Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: My Z87 Extreme 4 setup thoughts

Leeds Martin is offline Junior Member

Default My Z87 Extreme 4 setup thoughts

Hello, I'm new to building PCs and have just built my first PC using a Z87 board I thought I would share some of my experiences and hope some of you can comment.

My key concern is having a stable reliable PC and I have that, not had any component compatibility issues with the mobo, everything has worked, no BIOS issues either, no freezes crashes or anything using stock settings. This makes me very happy and is what I was after in the first place so anything else is a bonus. I just wanted a fast PC to utilise my recently installed fibre optic Broadband.

I recently upgraded BIOS to 2.3 using the internet flash function and it worked with no issue, great that you can flash from internet straight from BIOS without pre downloading first.

On the z87 functions some of which confuse me, the Intel Smart Connect technology, I can not think for the life of me of what use this is on a fast home PC, you put the machine in sleep mode overnight and wake it up in the morning, 5 seconds later you have all your mail etc. It kept waking up my machine in the middle of the night so I took the bugger off. Does anyone use this? Maybe I'm missing something.

The Intel Rapid Storage Technology - I was under the impression that there was a caching function available but it doesn't appear on my GUI. I was intending to cache a small portion of my SSD for the hard drive. I'm not that bothered as the thing is very fast anyway but it would have been nice to have got this working. I have set the SATA controller to RAID but I never get the caching option.