Please report all spam threads, posts and suspicious members. We receive spam notifications and will take immediate action!

Thread: CPU Multiplier Cycling

Abxnightpilot is offline Junior Member

Default CPU Multiplier Cycling

I have an ASRock 970 Extreme R2 motherboard with the most current UEFI/BIOS and an AMD FX 8320 CPU. I recently did two stress tests on it using both AMD OverDrive and Prime95. The problem that I'm having is that during both tests, the CPU multiplier cycles between 17.5 and 7. I am new to over locking but I would think the the multiplier would decrease to 7 when the CPU was not under stress and that while under stress that it would remain at 17.5. My temps on all 8 cores are normally in the low to mid 40's and I am not over clocking so all settings are at default values. I did purchase a water CPU cooler because I hope to OC after I figure out this problem.

Is this normal for the multiplier to decrease under a stress test? If not, what can I do to keep the multiplier at 17.5 (3.5ghz)? I mostly use this computer to encoding movies so lowering the multiplier and the GHZ is undesirable.

Remember Im new to overclocking so please put any reply in layman's terms.

Thanks.

parsec is online now Senior Member

Default Re: CPU Multiplier Cycling

So you're saying that during a Prime95 test run, with the CPU usage at 100% on all 8 cores (which I assume you are monitoring with something, no mention of that...), you see the CPU multiplier change between 17.5 and 7? That is with 8 Prime95 "workers" running simultaneously? What are your core temperatures like during the test when at 100% CPU usage?

Yes, the multiplier should stay at the highest value during the test, but can drop if the CPU is over heating, so throttles itself down. You're saying during the Prime95 test that all your cores are in the low to mid 40's? According to what monitoring program?

Tyler.Bernath is offline TweakTown Consumer Storage Editor

Disable Cool and Quiet in the Bios