• AsRock z77 Extreme6 Overclocking

Hey Guys,

I'm pretty new to OC, but I thought I'd give it a try. My Specs are:

mobo: AsRock z77 Extreme 6
    CPU: Intel Core i5 3570k
    CPU cooler: Noctua D14
    PSU: bequiet! 530w +80
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD 6870 1GB

My problem is I can't seem to get my CPU past 4.4. I've tried the automatic feature from the Bios, and I tried setting it manually with the voltage at 1.24v, to achieve 4.6. But nothing has worked. The temps under load at 4.4 don't go higher than 55C. Can anyone help?

Re: AsRock z77 Extreme6 Overclocking

Not much information in your post, does your PC BSOD when you try to go past 4.4GHz, or what, it won't boot, or POST?

What UEFI version are you using? You cannot use the IES power saving feature in AXTU.

Does your power supply have an eight pin or four pin CPU power connector?

Do you have CPU power saving options enabled?

The manually set voltage may be the limitation, I would try it on Auto for testing. What is your CPU Load-Line Calibration set to?

Ivy Bridge CPUs do not OC as well as Sandy Bridge CPUs do. Also, every CPU is different, some OC better than others, you may have a not so good CPU for OCing.

Don't use the automatic OC feature. Set the Turbo Ratio to All Cores, and set the multiplier to 45 for a start.

Set the CPU LLC to level 2 or 1. Set CPU voltage to Auto, but monitor it with something. It will likely go to ~1.4V, which is high for IB CPUs, but if you want a high OC, you take risks. Watch the CPU temp closely, but the CPU will throttle itself if it is to hot.

Forgot to say, do NOT change BCLK, leave it on Auto, or 100.
    Last edited by parsec; 11-27-2012, 01:36 PM.

Comment

Thanks for the help!!

When I set it to 4.6 it game me bsod while windows was loading. I have an 8 pin cpu connector and my Uefi version is: z77 extreme6 p1.40.