How to Launch EFI Shell from filesystem device

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to Launch EFI Shell from filesystem device

Hi, I have the option to Luanch EFI shell from filesystem device in the "Save & Exit" tab of my BIOS screen. When I try and open it I get "Warning not found". I've read that I can copy a binary file to the root of something or other and then this will launch. Ok, so I'm pretty brand new at command prompts etc - but I want to be able to use this facility. I'm assuming I need to mount the ESP partition in order to copy and paste this item. Can somebody explain the steps I need to take and the entries I need to make to to be able to achieve this? I have an Asus N56VM S4089V notebook if that helps. I've been unable to find any instructions anywhere on the web as to how to copy and paste the necessary info to the ESP, just that this is what needs to be done to get it to work (or alternatively, use a USB stick formatted to FAT32 with 1 EFI GPT, to which the file is copied and pasted and thus this is used to launch the EFI shell).
    Hoping someone here can enlighten and educate me. If anymore info is needed about my computer/set up let me know.
    Many thanks.

Re: How to Launch EFI Shell from filesystem device

Start with a bog standard FAT32 USB flash drive, doesn't need to be GPT just FAT32 formatted, and copy SHELLX64.EFI to it. Disable secure boot in the BIOS if it is enabled. Once you have it working on the flash drive you can use the shell commands to copy the file to the ESP if you want it there instead.

Comment

Originally posted by µcode View Post
      Start with a bog standard FAT32 USB flash drive, doesn't need to be GPT just FAT32 formatted, and copy SHELLX64.EFI to it. Disable secure boot in the BIOS if it is enabled. Once you have it working on the flash drive you can use the shell commands to copy the file to the ESP if you want it there instead.