Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Z77X UD3H - Win8 UEFI mode Install, CSM will NOT turn off in bios

Guys,

As per the title i've done a Win8 x64 UEFI install on my Z77 UD3H. Install and OS working sweet

Few little quirks in the bios options though an wonder if anyone else has the same experience, or whether my F19j beta bios is to blame, or i'm just a noob.

My bios settings are...

- OS Type "Windows 8 WHQL"
    - CSM This is the problem setting
    - Boot Mode Selection "UEFI only"
    - Storage Boot Option Control "UEFI only"
    - Other PCI Device ROM Priority "UEFI OpRom"

-Secure Boot "Enabled"

When I try to turn off the CSM by changing to "Disabled", then F10, upon reboot it is always "Enabled" again.

Now although my setup is running fine, I just wanted to turn this off as I believe it will further lessen the boot time.
    Is there some reason its always coming back on ?

I have a MSI 7970 lightning, a Xonar DG sound card and a Killer 2100 NIC all connected.
    Does one of these things need CSM to be enabled maybe ?

PS:
    While i'm here, what setting should I use for secure boot and why ? :)
    Last edited by SLICKRIC21; 05-15-2013, 02:01 PM.

Re: Z77X UD3H - Win8 UEFI mode Install, CSM will NOT turn off in bios

First, if CSM is enabled, you are not UEFI booting. Windows 8 UEFI booting installations still put a MBR on the OS drive, so standard MBR/BIOS booting is possible. CSM is really the main switch (currently) that determines BIOS or UEFI booting.

The current settings used by most mother board manufactures to enable UEFI booting are inconsistent, confusing, missing or at least not documented well at all. But it seems ASUS has built some checks into that UEFI to prevent problems. IMO, that is why CSM is always reset to enabled.