No announcement yet.

Z77 Extreme 4 Very odd shutdown problems...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Z77 Extreme 4 Very odd shutdown problems...

Hey guys,

This is my first build, and for it I chose the Z77 Extreme 4. Ever since I built it, I have had the strangest (and progressively more annoying) problem- the motherboard will not shut down the fans or lights when Widnows shuts down, and I must hold down the power button for about 10 seconds to manually shut it down. Additionally, the motherboard will not shut down when in hibernation or hybrid sleep mode, but it does turn off the keyboard and mouse, making it impossible to wake up the computer without doing a hard restart.

The weirdest part, though, is that when I reset windows the fans and lights DO automatically turn off for about a second before coming back on and restarting.

I am totally stumped. I am a little hesitant to go in myself and try to fix the problem, as I cant find many consistent answers online. As this if my first build, I am not totally comfortable making drastic changes without specific instructions on what to change, which is why I am here. Has anybody else encountered this problem and successfully fixed it? If so, how? Is there an official fix?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Z77 Extreme 4 Very odd shutdown problems...

Double check that the case to MB connections are plugged in correctly.

Then, if the above wiring is correct, I'd probably swap in a different PSU and see if it replicated the problem.
    #1 - Please, when seeking help, enter the make and model of ALL parts that your system is comprised of in your Signature, or at least the model #'s in your System Specs, then "Save' it.
    ____If you are overclocking, underclocking, or undervolting any parts, informing us of this and their values would prove beneficial in helping you.