Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ATI Radeon 9700 Pro worth the price?

Oh man the 9700 Pro is 299.99 .

Is it really worth it, or should I just get the less expensive nVidia GeForce 4 Ti 4800?

Bro,

The 9700 Pro is worth every penny, I, fortunately, got it for a steal because it was an opened box at Best Buys for $239. If you were smart, I wasn't because I was willing to pay in the $350 range, you would wait until ATI released there TOP DOG: 9800 256 meg card because it should bring the 9700 Pro cost down. Then again, maybe not... Just a suggestion. I, personally have been using ATI produces since directx 4 generation, 16 meg vid cards and I have always been beyond satisfied. I'm not an expert on this though, seek opinions of Suicide, Darth, and RDR, they will guide you in the right direction.:D

-Hawks :cheers:

Comment

Here in Australia at over $600aus it ain't in my books and I'd rather pay $240aus for a trusty GF4 Ti4200 VIVO.

Comment

In Responce to Hawks:
        Yeah, but the 9800 Pro 256 meg is going to be unbelievably expeeeeeeeeeennnnnsiive. I am guessing about 450.
        Thank you for your input, though. I think I will end up going with the 9700 Pro. It seems to be an all around better card.

In Responce to Wiggo:
        Thats nice, I live in the US.

Comment

I would bet dimes to dollars that the 9800 256 won't be able to be touch under $499.00 :eek: Now that is a serious dent in the old pocketbook....:(

-Hawks

Comment

the 9800 256mb looks to be around 400 right now what i would like to know is whether if they will release an al in wonder version? that will i expect be 450 up, if it gets relesed at all.

Comment

If you're looking for all-out performance, then go for the Radeon 9700 Pro board. While the GeForce4 Ti series isn't a bad setup, they are blown away by the sheer horsepower in the ATI powered cards.