PDA

View Full Version : What an Athlon XP1800+ can do



Wiggo
05-14-2003, 01:17 AM
Mind you it is at 12 x 166MHz and a T'bred B. :devil:

elrado1
05-14-2003, 01:38 AM
That is, when it is in the hands of a master! :flames:

kane2g
05-14-2003, 03:58 AM
is that on 8RDA?
does dual channel memory help that much!

Wiggo
05-14-2003, 09:12 AM
Yep that's an 8RDA+ w/ T'bred B XP1800 and 2x256MB Kingmax DDR333 (spose to be a budget gamer setup) but yes the nForce2's dual channel memory does make quite a difference but jumpin' from a 133MHz FSB to a 166MHz FSB helps too. It's averagin' 2hrs 27mins per w/u atm. :beer:

kane2g
05-14-2003, 11:10 AM
:drool:

Wiggo
05-15-2003, 03:42 PM
This little sucker takes me to over 60 w/u's p/d. :devil win

kane2g
05-15-2003, 06:55 PM
Must be nice. I like my mid 30s fine, well for the moment anyway.
Depending on how much Cheez will squeeze out of his nForce's. I gotta start watching my back again.

Wiggo
05-15-2003, 09:11 PM
Just think that an XP1800+ T'bred B, 8RDA+ and 512MB of reasonable PC2700 RAM (with any basic drives and vid card added) and there's 9 w/u's per day (most likely 10 with top notch RAM). :beer:

amd_man2005
05-17-2003, 05:55 AM
wiggo, how long do ya think itll take this rig.

Abit KG7
512mb samsung pc2700
AMD Athlon 2100+ hopefully oc'ed to about a 155fsb=2015mhz

plus all my other stuff. im thinking inder 2.5hrs

Wiggo
05-17-2003, 11:07 AM
Very hard to say as I've never used the 760 chipset and VIA's KT266A/KT333 were reportedly faster so don't get ya hopes to high there as my similar KT333 with XMS3200 has an average of 2hr 42min. :beer:

Wiggo
05-22-2003, 12:44 PM
Well this is becomin' a very familiar sight now. Not bad for an XP1800+ hey? :D

Wiggo
05-22-2003, 12:49 PM
Here's the XP2600+ that finished right after but it's been runnin' a few IE windows, PSP7, Trillian and WinAMP for some hours now. :beer:

Wiggo
05-22-2003, 12:51 PM
And then that lousy P4 gives me this, though sadly very common. :(

kane2g
05-22-2003, 12:58 PM
you *******!
I mean you LUCKy *******, yeah thats what I meant ;)

Wiggo
05-22-2003, 01:04 PM
Well I could also show ya my best from a 1.7 Celeron @ 1.86GHz but it's imbarrassin'. :o

I've just cranked the sucker up to 2.12GHz so I'll see if that helps any. ;)

kane2g
05-22-2003, 03:07 PM
how about some of those 500mhz K6s???
that would make me feel better! :rofl:

Wiggo
05-22-2003, 07:54 PM
My old [email protected] use to average 18hrs 17mins (I should get that bohemoth goin' again). :D

My older K6-2 [email protected] averaged 24hrs 33mins. :(

My even older PII300 Compaq Deskpro though averages 17hr 11mins. :beer:

kane2g
05-22-2003, 08:05 PM
well this is my puppy doing some work
didnt get to 166 yet, but Im on my way :D

Wiggo
05-22-2003, 08:10 PM
Now what's the setup of "this puppy" of your's again? :confused:

kane2g
05-23-2003, 12:10 AM
kg7raid on xp1700 running 150ish fsb with some 333ddr ram :thumb:

Wiggo
05-23-2003, 12:56 AM
I wonder what ya'd get out of it if ya changed over to an 8RDA+ setup. :?:

10.5/11 x 166MHz would be interestin'. :D

kane2g
05-23-2003, 03:36 PM
well I cant complain as with the v11 with a different fan it is running at 36C. I will have more balls to OC it once its on water.:thumb:

Wiggo
05-23-2003, 10:46 PM
Just to let ya's know that the 1.7GHz Celery @ 2.12Ghz has just managed to break the 8hr per w/u barrier (but not by much) so P4 architecture Celerons are not on the recommended list for runnin' [email protected] < /judgement> :beer:

elrado1
05-24-2003, 12:54 AM
Thanks! I'll stay away from them. ;)

CheeZmonZter
06-03-2003, 12:51 PM
I have the 8rda+ set up here and i am still averaging higher than your set up....I wonder what the heck i am doing wrong. It is the system in my SIG, I have a few times (maybe one in 15 that are sub 2hr) but I want Faster!! heehee oh well I guess I shoudl be happy with what I have! Another 2100+ will be uptonight. on an older KT 266 board tho.

Wiggo
06-03-2003, 05:15 PM
Well I'm not sure what I'm doin' right plus I havn't tweaked the oses out but maybe it's just instinct with how I setup the hardware but Kane ain't likely to be happy when he gets back. :D

CheeZmonZter
06-04-2003, 12:48 AM
well A bad Cd drive kept me from getting the other system online. but I will have it going today, just have to pull one from another system that isnt using it. Starting to get crouded in here! I hope Kane isnt happy (no offence buddy but you have had my spot long enough):beer: :beer: :beer:

elrado1
06-04-2003, 11:21 AM
I get the feeling you’re not merely tired of Kane being ahead of you…. :laugh:

kane2g
06-04-2003, 07:09 PM
WTF?? Is this like hate on Kane day??
I put in work!! Just cuz your systems need a damn nforce2 board to keep up with me, how is this my fault? I say bring it on! Ever since I beat CheeZ, he seemed to put the whole SETI thing on back burner, so no real competition. I say bring it on, but remember, I kicked Cheez's ass before, and Im planning to do it again to whoever will challenge my spot. :cantfocus
:cheers:

Wiggo
06-04-2003, 09:58 PM
So does that mean that ya seriously considerin' an nForce2 setup? :smokin:

elrado1
06-04-2003, 10:47 PM
Jeez, chill Kane! I'm just saying that CheeZ may be saying that he's aiming to reclaim his spot, but he's really just watching his back! We know your stats are fluky due to your irregular transfers. I'll be happy with the no. 4 spot, if and when it happens. You two can duke it out for no. 2. :laugh:

Re. the the nForce2 board comment, I think he's saying that those of us vying for his position need to move up to the latest technology, if we expect to catch him. :devil win

CheeZmonZter
06-05-2003, 12:12 AM
Wow! I put Seti on the back burner and there is no competition, but now that I am getting all of the comps online its hate Kane day? and that is my spot!:beer: :beer: :beer: as far as the Nforce...I got it cause i wanted the latest mobo and the best oc board available. I use this main system to play more games that it does working on seti. I am just wondering why it averages higher than Wiggo's machines do!

Wiggo
06-05-2003, 08:32 AM
For the extra 100MHz ya carryin' ya should be scalpin' me but I have no idea why ya not. :shrug:

kane2g
06-05-2003, 11:44 AM
Well I understand why Cheez would want my spot, but it seems that i get away for few days and elrado is ready to take my spot too, or at least thinking about it. as he seems to have some system in the newegg shoping basket. :?:
BTW it was your spot, but untill you beat me, ITS MINE!!!!!!!
But I will let you have the #3 in few days, as Im moving for #2! :D And I aint giving that one up w.o a fight!!!

Wiggo
06-08-2003, 12:23 AM
Hey Cheez I just noticed that ya got a SBLive in that rig of your's and I wonder if that's whats slowin' ya down. :?:

CheeZmonZter
06-08-2003, 12:31 AM
huh would that actually slow it down? Maybe i will yank it out and try it without the card in and just use the onboard sound.

Wiggo
06-08-2003, 12:35 AM
It's about the only thing that I can think of that could be holdin' ya back. :shrug:

CheeZmonZter
06-13-2003, 03:42 AM
huh would that actually slow it down? Maybe i will yank it out and try it without the card in and just use the onboard sound.

Well with the sound card out of the Setup it is still about the same, Since the format and reinstall I am avging times about 2.09/WU I guess that those 350k units really slow it down...I am getting some right around 1.80 or so and others are up around 2.15hrs/wu still smoking fast compared to what I stared at (26+hrs/wu) I am happy with it so far.

I am going to start messing with the multiplier and see how far this 2700 will go. Fastest I have had it at with a FSB OC was about 2.500 but it wasnt stable there. It runs stable as a dream at the 2.403 but i want more!:thumb: :beer: :beer: :thumb:

maximus7001
06-22-2003, 04:44 PM
Hey wiggo, I'm havin a problem. I'm gettin like 32-34 hours for 1. Any suggestions? I just started a few days ago. It's just a base install of seti though.

edit: oops, I just noticed that sb live can screw it up thats what I just switched to a few weeks ago. Should I go back to the c-media 5.1?

Wiggo
06-22-2003, 08:09 PM
Sounds like ya usin' the GUI (screensaver) version which totally sucks and if ya are then uninstall it and follow these instructions (http://www.soni.dk/Distributed/seti_installation.asp) for running the Command Line Interface one (Method 2). My 333MHz Celery will get one done in less than a day and that's the slowest thing I have runnin' atm. ;)

TwistedMovistar
06-28-2003, 02:43 AM
i had been messing around with it and now i see how others compare and i am ashamed.
athlon xp 2100+ @2144
pc2100 128mb(temporary)
epox 8k3a+

and the best that i can do is a 2:53
it is overclocked by 13x164
does switching from pc2100 to pc2700 actually give ya that big of an increase or is it the 128mb of memory? this is with standard settings in the memory

kane2g
06-28-2003, 02:53 AM
well its a little of both.
2700 will handle better, and you can run more agressive timings.
also more memory is always good.

elrado1
06-28-2003, 08:15 AM
Don't worry, you've only done 4 units. You'll get some, if not many more units, with faster times. You've got great potential! :)

Wiggo
06-28-2003, 10:29 AM
I just upped my XP1800+ T'bred B to 12.5x166MHz resultin' in 2.09GHz equallin' an XP2600+. :D

TwistedMovistar
06-28-2003, 11:05 AM
the memory is going on order tomorrow. samsung pc2700 256mb. and the duron 900 that i have sitting will only be missing a arddrive then becuase it is using a old msi(to hell with them) so then i will have two folders. anyone will ing to sell a small harddrive?