PDA

View Full Version : How to create a CD image?



asklepios
06-20-2003, 10:32 PM
alright...so wat do u do when u download a linux distro on ur dial-up and one of the kids in ur home deletes one of the ISO's :angryfire

damn this is my problem...though i did burn all the ISO's but i was planning on distributing linux for free in my city and this is why i saved the distros on my HD. now one of the ISO's (CD1) of redhat linux is deleted.

the thing is that i want to create an image from the CD (that i already have) so that i could use it at the time of burning the CD next time. is this imaging possible? please say that it is...pls pls pls! will the MDM5 sums match with original one? this thing has stumped me big time.

if you guys have any ideas...it will be highly appreciated. though i like freewares but even if the app is a shareware, it will work for me as i have to use it just once.
TIA for any help :cheers:

Wiggo
06-20-2003, 10:36 PM
If ya don't get a satisfactory answer here in the next day or so I'll move this to the Linux forum (remind me if I forget ;) ). :beer:

asklepios
06-20-2003, 10:38 PM
lol...sure mate...i'll certainly do so. ;)

Wiggo
06-20-2003, 10:57 PM
Well ya could try it but unless ya the Mod of that forum then ya can't do "Jack ****" as I found out a long time ago (unless forum policy was changed while my back was turned but then ya could do with ya horizons broadened a bit now I think). :beer:

[Edit] Bad luck they've just been broadened so ya can do it ya self. :D

zeradul
06-21-2003, 01:36 AM
And why don't you just duplicate the CD you have?

PrairieDawg
06-21-2003, 03:17 AM
asklepios do you have access to the Ahead Nero program? If so this link may be of some assistance.
http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=245
The link also has links to Ahead Nero's site and from there you could prolly d-load the trial version.

minibubba
06-21-2003, 03:22 AM
thx for the link PrairieDawg, I've been wondering if I could use Nero to create an .iso file :thumb:

PrairieDawg
06-21-2003, 03:23 AM
No problem ... hopefully it'll work as easy as it looks like it should.

asklepios
06-21-2003, 05:03 PM
asklepios do you have access to the Ahead Nero program? If so this link may be of some assistance.
http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=245
The link also has links to Ahead Nero's site and from there you could prolly d-load the trial version.

thanx alot for the link PrairieDawg. i do have nero and it worked till it created the iso file but the MDM5 Sums didn't match :cry:
this thing is really pissing me off.


Originally posted by zeradul
And why don't you just duplicate the CD you have?

well i can do that zeradul but i have heard that there are more chances of having a badly written CD while duplicating as compared to when you write it from an ISO, but now this seems to be the only option i have.


Originally posted by Wiggo"]
[Edit][/b] [i]Bad luck they've just been broadened so ya can do it ya self. :D
though i was thinking about asking you to move it after a couple of days but such bad luck is always welcome :devil win

Wiggo
06-21-2003, 05:47 PM
I've a very busy week this week so I may forget. ;)

asklepios
06-24-2003, 03:43 AM
i think i should move this thread to linux forums now in a sheer hope that Bern might see it and help me out :(

i really hate kids :angryfire

Bern
06-26-2003, 08:11 AM
http://www.troubleshooters.com/linux/coasterless.htm#_Accurately_Reading_a_CD

asklepios
06-27-2003, 02:12 AM
thanx for info Bern but it didn't work :(
i typed the command
isoinfo -d -i /dev/cdrom
and it said there is no ISO file available.

i tried
isoinfo -d -i /dev/cdroms/cdrom0
and
isoinfo -d -i /dev/cdroms/cdrom1
cos i have two drives but got the same result.
any more ideas? :confused:

zeradul
06-27-2003, 05:31 AM
well i can do that zeradul but i have heard that there are more chances of having a badly written CD while duplicating as compared to when you write it from an ISO, but now this seems to be the only option i have.

Hmm,

I don't know who told you this, but that is absurd. This was true back when there were only 2X or 4X burners?? I mean, the real early devices. Or maybe the person who told you that owns a garbage brand burner?

Decent burners now days are just as accurate as Hard Drives (within an order of magnitude) But you should have NO problems duplicating a CD you just burned... unless you scratched it all to hell you'll be fine.

asklepios
06-27-2003, 05:41 AM
... unless you scratched it all to hell you'll be fine.

nah man...i love my CD's. they are nice and cozy in individual cases.
thanx man...i feel i should stop thinking too much abt it now
so for me...its duplicating the CD's from now on :cheers:

zeradul
06-27-2003, 11:03 AM
good descision.