PDA

View Full Version : Linking 2 power supplies!



syx
07-04-2003, 10:19 PM
Ive found an article on how to link 2 power supplies to get power and i would want to know if it would help me!

I can get an used 200W power supply (from a old 486 or something!) for almost nothing! :laugh:

I have a 250W power supply that came with my aopen case and my 1800+ is overclocked at 1880mhz (2300+) and it reboots sometimes, i want to know if linking 2 psu would help... one only fot motherboard ant the other one for cd, floppy, fans, HDD.

Should i link the 12 volts or separate both power supplies??
:shrug:

Thanks for the advice guys!
:thumb:

VinnieVen
07-04-2003, 10:36 PM
post the link so we can get all the details.

syx
07-04-2003, 10:41 PM
http://www.pc-mod.com/articles/atx/

if you guys find a better site or method give me details please!

THX all!

kane2g
07-04-2003, 10:45 PM
since the 200 is an AT psu, you could just run that to power the drives.

BTW if you read the same article that i did, they were talking about joining 2 atx psus.

syx
07-04-2003, 10:48 PM
Yep the article is for 2 atx power suplies, i can get at or atx used power supplies, what you recommant me??

I really dont want to screw up... not enouph money to make a mistake!!:smokin:

triple_s
07-05-2003, 05:30 PM
if it were me doing this, then i wouldnt link them, but do what "Kane2g" said, and just run the drives fans etc off the AT psu, and just the motherboard off the ATX.

:cantfocus

kane2g
07-05-2003, 06:42 PM
um, just to clarify. AT psu has a power switch so it doesnt need to be connected to a motherboard to be turned on/off.

The reason why they join 2 psus together is because they;re atx, hence need to be connected. if you got AT youre a step ahead.

hope this makes sense now.
:2cents:

syx
07-07-2003, 09:59 PM
Wow thanks Kane2g!!! Didnt know that at had a switch in the back, this will be easy!!!

Ill try this and tell you how it works!

THX for all!!

Wiggo
07-07-2003, 10:24 PM
You will need to ground the "Good Power" wire on the AT PSU (which is the number 1 wire which should be orange) to one of the black ground wires for the PSU to operate (both are on the P8 mobo connection). :beer:

syx
07-07-2003, 10:40 PM
You say i HAVE TO link the ground to have a common ground on both power supplies?

Anyone have a page i can go take a look to see how to do ???

Wiggo
07-07-2003, 11:02 PM
Maybe ya should read my last post again very carefully but if the AT PSU doesn't get the ok from the "Good Power" wire then it will shut down before ya realised that it powered up. I didn't say anything about linkin' both PSU's. :rolleyes2

kane2g
07-08-2003, 12:16 AM
Well that depends on PSU wiggo. I power on mine all the time without any problems.
But you're right if that specific PSU has a power good wire that works. :)

Nightstalker
07-08-2003, 10:53 PM
as cheap as psu's are i'd just get one that is big enough, then there would be no worries.

kane2g
07-08-2003, 11:12 PM
"Link wire 15 (black) on both psu's together, line 15 is ground and to run dual psu's you need a common ground"
That is very important, although when putting together an ATX and AT psu, you can just use the 4pin molex connector to connect the 2 black wires form one psu to the other.

syx
07-08-2003, 11:44 PM
Wait a sec... connecting an atx and an at power supplie with the 4 pin molex will not also give me a common ground but also a common +5v and +12v, those voltage that are in the molex?

Am i right?? :confused:


I have a good base in electricity but i dont know if this will be good for the power supplies(linking them only by the 4 pin molex connector)

THX again for your help!!! :cheers: :D

kane2g
07-09-2003, 04:35 AM
Let me clarify, use the molex to connect ONLY the 2 black wires (ground/common) together.
You dont need to connect the yellow 12 or red 5v.

Linking them shouldnt cause any problems, but you want to link them only so the PSUs have common.

syx
07-26-2003, 02:18 AM
it,s done!!
ive put an AT psu in 2 CD bays and connected the grounds!
The power ok wire isn't connected and it works... is this a problem??

Now i have an 12v metal fan in front, 3 40MM fan in the back and both power supplies sucking air out... now thats better!!!

THX for your help guys!

TheOne™
07-26-2003, 08:50 AM
got any pics?

syx
07-29-2003, 03:11 AM
I have do reverse a PSU fan, to make the wiring permanent and to finish the holes for my 40mm fans...

When all that is done, ill get a digital camera and sho you that!!
All of this in a CHEAP Aopen case!

SYX