PDA

View Full Version : Nforce2 crunchers, Dual memory question.



kane2g
07-06-2003, 11:07 PM
Does the dual channel memory help you crunch faster?
And if so, how much faster?

Beefy
07-07-2003, 06:49 AM
I'll let you know when my RAM turns up. At the moment I've got 1 x 512MB stick in, but have a couple sticks of Corsair on the way.

Wiggo
07-07-2003, 09:36 AM
Well my XP1800+ w/ KT333 takes about 3hr 5min but my XP1800+ w/ nForce2 cut that by another 15-20min until I o/c'd it. :beer:

kane2g
07-07-2003, 12:24 PM
only a 20min difference between the single channel on kt333 and nforce2 is kinda dissapointing.

I want to know on just nforce2, so i guess Ill wait for Beefys ram.
thanks

Beefy
07-07-2003, 12:40 PM
.... so i guess Ill wait for Beefys ram.
thanks

That makes two of us.. :(

amd_man2005
07-07-2003, 12:51 PM
I guess Ill wait for Beefy's ram too, cause im interested in the performance also. So now theres three of us.

CheeZmonZter
07-09-2003, 03:02 AM
With my MSI Kt3ultra 2 mobo running the same ram CPU and oc I was getting times avging 2.6/wu. With the Epox 8rda+ I am avging 2.1, again that is with the same basic settings as the old mobo. Thats about 30 minutes off each WU!

kane2g
07-09-2003, 03:23 AM
Well I guess what i want to know is whats the WU times with 512 in regular mode as opposed to 2x256 dual chanel on nforce2 board. I know they would be faster as opposed to any other mobo, but just wondering if going with dual channel is really worth it.

amd_man2005
07-09-2003, 04:04 AM
Well, kane2g Ill let ya know wat my resultsa are when I get my 8RGA+ and 2X 256mb xms3200. Will order it in a week or two, I cant wait to finally o/c this damn thing and crunch w/us fast.

minibubba
07-09-2003, 04:10 AM
I should have 2x Geil Golden Dragon (PC3200) 256 MB here with the week....except I'm crunching [email protected] instread of SETI...but the results should be the same anyway, I'll let ya know...

Wiggo
07-09-2003, 06:50 AM
kane2g[/size]]
only a 20min difference between the single channel on kt333 and nforce2 is kinda dissapointing. I don't think so really especially when ya consider that the KT333 is a step above those AMD760's that ya so fond of (the KT266A is more in the 760's playin' field) which will put the nForce2 way in front plus it overclocks fantastically. :beer:

kane2g
07-09-2003, 07:44 AM
I guess Im just trying to see if Im better off looking for 2 matching sticks of 3200 or just stick with the 1 big stick.
Hopefully the results everyone is getting will be consistent. Cuz if they arent it looks like the whole dual channel is not going to be worth it.

minibubba
07-09-2003, 10:03 AM
there could be other benifits aside from crunching WU's ;)

kane2g
07-09-2003, 10:23 AM
there could be other benifits aside from crunching WU's ;)
People use systems for something else than crunching WUs?????
Thats just CrAzy! :crazy: :crazy:

elrado1
07-09-2003, 11:12 AM
People use systems for something else than crunching WUs?????
Thats just CrAzy! :crazy: :crazy:

I can't think of one either! :laugh:

I hate it at work when I've minimized Windows Task Manager and the Tray Icon isn't bright green. It seems like something's wrong! Then I remember that it is only a 500MHz PIII and realize that it doesn't really matter. :cry:

Beefy
07-09-2003, 01:24 PM
I guess Im just trying to see if Im better off looking for 2 matching sticks of 3200 or just stick with the 1 big stick.
Hopefully the results everyone is getting will be consistent. Cuz if they arent it looks like the whole dual channel is not going to be worth it.

Got a call today saying my RAM had just been sent, so I should see it in a day or two. I'll compare my current 512MB stick to 2 x 512MB Corsair for ya.

Beefy
07-11-2003, 03:27 PM
OK, from some basic runs, going from 1 x 512MB stick to 2 x 512MB sticks, I've gone from an average of 2:50 to about 2:35 - 2:40. So whether that's due to twice the RAM or Dual Channel I'll leave up to you. :)

Wiggo
07-11-2003, 11:16 PM
How aggressive are ya timings? :?:

Beefy
07-13-2003, 04:25 PM
I set them at 2-2-2-6 first time and left them. It's good enough for me.

Wiggo
07-13-2003, 04:37 PM
Well the extra memory wouldn't help as the program doesn't use much so ya difference is all in the dual channel operation but damn with that setup of ya's ya should be inside 2.5hrs. :smokin:

amd_man2005
07-13-2003, 11:10 PM
Okay, im all excited with gettin an Nforce2 setp goiong now (got all the money, just waitin for the money to get to the CC) How fast do ya think Ill crunch with the follwing:
8RGA+
AMD XP2100
(2) 256mb XMS3200 cas2

Running Default speeds, just aggressive RAM timings?

And if I get it up to a 166FSB or so, do ya think I MIGHT turn in some sub 2.25 hr wus?

Wiggo
07-14-2003, 07:44 AM
Ya should have no probs gettin' that up to the 166MHz FSB if it's a T'bred CPU plus my 2600+ @ 2.26GHz av. 2hr 7mins and my 1800+ @ 2.09GHz av. 2hr 16mins so ya should be in with a shot unless it's a Pally. :beer:

amd_man2005
07-14-2003, 09:16 AM
Well, unfortunately its a paly 2100+, Im looking to get rid of my paly 1900+ and use the cash from it and pick up a 1700+ tbred b though, or maybe get a Barton 2600

Wiggo
07-15-2003, 12:23 AM
I've heard of XP2500+ Bartons but when did the XP2600+ version come out? :confused:

amd_man2005
07-15-2003, 12:29 AM
My mistake, I meant 2500+. Well anyway, I just got rid of my 1900+ for $55US and Im gonna buy either a TbredB 2100+ maybe, or I might go up to the Barton 2500+

Andy
07-15-2003, 04:35 PM
Well w00tahhhh, I just got 2x 256mb Corsair XMS3500 ram, dual channel action for me :D

At the moment my system is runing at these speeds:
CPU is at 217x10.5 @ 1.825V
RAM is at 217 @ 2.75V

I'm gonna let them run at rated for a while, to let them 'burn in', then see if these babys can handle 233MHz :D

W/U times are looking quite good so far, its predicting 2:05 for this current W/U, and about 20% of it was done while on my old ram (1x 512mb XMS2700 at 166MHz). while talking about my old ram, its average W/U time was about 2:30-2:40.