PDA

View Full Version : Raid problem



qwerty
02-17-2002, 01:21 AM
I'm kind of a n00b so please dont mind any stupid thing i say.
I recently got a maxtor d740 60g 7200rpm and i tried to put it in raid 0 with my older maxtor plus 60 60 7200rpm. The result I got from HD tach is kind of low, 45mb/s burst 36mb/s sequential and 15ms. Any idea of could the problem maybe? I use the onboard raid controller that comes with my KT7A-R. Thx

my system:
ABIT KT7A-RAID
Athlon3 1.2 ghz @ 266
512mb PC133
Geforce 3
SB Live 5.1
Netgear FA113 NIC
AOpen 16x dvd
Win XP

Albinus
02-17-2002, 10:45 AM
Sounds pretty good to me - those results are OK, even though slightly low. Don't worry - fast enough :cool:

ne0z
02-18-2002, 11:31 PM
if you want to raise your scores a tad then buy two IDENTICAL hard drives. Alot of times hard drives even from the same manufacturer have different timing.

T-Shirt
02-22-2002, 02:03 PM
doesn't have to be identical, but it won't be any faster then then slower drive.
and Neoz is right not matching drives, even with identical specs may not perform at the best possible speed
Stil you have pretty good speeds now, just watch for the matching drive to go on sale for another big boost.