PDA

View Full Version : The origins of overclocking.......



Shepps
02-17-2002, 09:03 PM
i was just wondering where the idea to overclock came from...did some one just fiddle with the jumpers on there board and find that they could get more speed for free? Or did intel n co say "if you do this, this hapenns".........just wondering if anyone knew....:?: :?: :?:

Albinus
02-17-2002, 09:20 PM
It has been in place ever since the microprocessor was invented..... back in 1981 engineers were bragging about overclocking a 2MHz chip to 2.4MHz..... now we just use GHz instead of MHz :D

Jumpers came later...... then Abit really set the overclocking market on fire with their range of BX boards in 1998 - that made overclocking a mainstream issue - not just reserved to hardcore geeks :)

Shepps
02-17-2002, 09:24 PM
cool, thxs. They say ya learn something new everyday :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:thumb:

Albinus
02-17-2002, 09:26 PM
No problems - that's what my mother says as well :thumb:

Onyx
02-18-2002, 09:05 AM
Let's not let this thread die. Let us continue this journey of exploration on the origins of overclocking for us individually.

For me, this is my story of how I started overclocking:

In the mid 90's, I had a P133. Some new game came out that really taxed the system. Friend of mine suggested I "overclock" it. I wasn't sure what he was on about, thought maybe me meant overdrive - ie. install newer processor (called Intel Overdrive's back in those days). Told him I couldn't afford a new chip. He informed me I could just switch the multipliers and FSB speeds and as long as it's not too outragesall should go well. Every since then, my P133 has been running at 166Mhz for a further 3-4 years until now that I have money at my disposal.

That old system altho worth nothing, I wouldn't trade it in for anything in the world as it has such a high sentimental value to me. :) However I think nothing of exchanging parts in my current system (money permitting).

Beefy
02-18-2002, 10:03 AM
Here's a tragic tale for you...

First attempted an OC on my Ath 1.1Ghz. Got the pencil out, joined the L1 bridges. Booted the machine up, went into the BIOS, changed the multiplier. Worked great. Suddenly heard a big ping and saw something shoot out of my PC. When I realised it was part of the clip that was holding my HSF on, I jumped straight for the power cable at the back. Was too late though. fried the thing in 6 seconds. Managed to get a replacement from the nice people at AMD. Didn't overclock this one. For a while... :D

Did the same again, joined the bridges, put the HSF back on. Clocked it up a fair way. Then about 10 days later my computer died. Eventually, thanks to Birdkiller, I found out that I had put the clip on back to front this time, which put too much pressure on the edge of the die, cracking a little off the side.

So, I gave up that idea, got an Ath XP now. Have worked the FSB up a fair way, but there's no chance i'm even touching the HSF on this one. And the unlocking process is a little too involved for me.

Albinus
02-18-2002, 11:24 AM
My best overclocks were a Celeron 266 at 533MHz on an AOpen AX6BC board (I miss you old friend! :cry: ) and 224MHz out of a Pentium 120 (on an ALi Aladdin V based board). Also had a 566MHz Celeron at 952MHz on the same AX6BC motherboard. But I'm getting more cautious in my old age - haven't overclocked since I dropped a screwdriver on my AX6BC and mortally wounding it in the process :( :cry:


EDIT: Onyx, seeing that you asked so nicely I'll make this a sticky thread ;)

FiReBLaZR
02-18-2002, 09:37 PM
Well my first computer in my room was a 486/100mhz...i had no clue how to use windows...just for DOOM and Duke Nukem 3d...then after begging for like a few years...i finally got my first real computer...it was a Pentium 3 600Mhz...the 100 mhz FSB version...i had no clue what to do...then I saw Virtual-Hideout...i read and i was like HOLY ****....this is cool...then i went to others including this site to gain more knowledge...so my best overclock with this one was 900Mhz...6x150mhz....but it wasnt soo stable...i had an alpha heatsink with 2 Delta Fans on it...SCREAMER!!!!....so i went to a stable 6x147...882Mhz...i felt soo cool....then i upgraded my PC.....

I bought and ABit KT7E and an AMD 1333....i put my swifty on without the washers on the ends of the spring...DUH....fried in 3 seconds...but luckily it wasnt cracked and i got a replacement CPU with an AYHJA Stepping code...now im running what u see in my SIG...my highest OC was 1647mhz...but im keeping it at 1533...but the wierd thing is...i have the same SDRAM PC133 Memory from my P3 Days...and they could go to 150 semi-stable...now on my AMD...they cant go past 133 without crashing...i guess my next upgrade will have some crucial chips in it...anywayz..those were my beginning days...now i OC friends PC's...lol (not anymore after a quick scare when i thought i fried his AMD...almost **** on myself before i reset the CMOS...lol...pheww)

EDIT: the mobo was a Asus P3V4X...with some mini heatsinks on the clock generator and other chips on it.

Thanks again Peeps...take care

FiReBLaZR

:flames: :flames: :flames: :flames: :flames: :flames:

PS...i think someone should create a smiley face with a PC that blows up from OC'ing...that would be funny and i would use the silicone out of it...lol

ne0z
02-19-2002, 12:24 AM
My first O/C experience was after I built my first computer myself ( no store bought anymore). Well, I ran it stock for about 2 months and liked how it was running. It was a PIII 600 coppermine slot 1 on a Asus P3V4X. The one with the same stepping as the 800 EB. I wanted to hit the 800 mark and did easily. Anyway you know how we are, I though wow that easy maybe 852 would be better. And there the saga began. I have overclocked everything since then I am never satisfied. BTW my girlfriend has that computer now. It is running at my personal best of 945 air cooled. I evern run overclocking software on my palmtop

FiReBLaZR
02-19-2002, 01:32 AM
My first O/C experience was after I built my first computer myself ( no store bought anymore). Well, I ran it stock for about 2 months and liked how it was running. It was a PIII 600 coppermine slot 1 on a Asus P3V4X. The one with the same stepping as the 800 EB. I wanted to hit the 800 mark and did easily. Anyway you know how we are, I though wow that easy maybe 852 would be better. And there the saga began. I have overclocked everything since then I am never satisfied. BTW my girlfriend has that computer now. It is running at my personal best of 945 air cooled. I evern run overclocking software on my palmtop

Thats a good OC...and i had/have the same exact system...i had the P3 600 that was the same as the 800EB...but only at 100mhz fsb...also the same mobo..but i hooked it up with some mini heat sinks to cool the chips off...anywayz...im out..lataz

FiReBLaZR

ne0z
02-19-2002, 04:03 AM
I think that is the best board I ever used from Asus

FiReBLaZR
02-19-2002, 05:55 AM
I think that is the best board I ever used from Asus

yeah that was a fun board...lol...pretty cool indeed...i still have it...its in the corner of my room...its for my mom...soon i will be able to finish her system up.

Anonymous
02-19-2002, 06:02 AM
Well like I said it is what my girlfriend is using now. She loves it and when she wants a new machine I will take that one back and use it as a MP3 server or something. I had so much fun with that board

ne0z
02-19-2002, 06:03 AM
Argh that was me above

God
02-21-2002, 05:40 AM
My first o/c was sadly only about a year ago...it was on the same Duron 800 I am using now. Because of my ****ty ram I could only get it to 915mhz, and when I got my new Gainward GeForce3 Ti200/450 last month I had such trouble with VIA's idiocy combined with XP that it's back at 800....sigh....I need a new motherboard...I will never buy VIA again.

RDR
02-22-2002, 01:27 AM
I don't think you should be so quick to judge all Via chipsets from your experience with the AOpen AK33 - a KT133 board

I'm not familiar with that specific board...but there are a few real KT133 dogs out there, and AOpen doesn't exactly have the best of reputations either.

Besides if you want to run an XP - what are your alternatives:
SiS - good but not really OC'er friendly
AMD - not widely available anymore
vNidia - get ready to fork out the cash & Oc by jumpers too.
ALi- C'mon - you weren't really considering Ali, were you?

most KT133a or KT266a board owners I know are more than satisfied with Via chipsets.

ne0z
02-22-2002, 03:34 AM
I have that chipset on my board and I love it, the overclocking was great, the board was rock solid. Great chipset if ya ask me

Wiggo
02-22-2002, 08:33 AM
Well my 1st was getting an AMD 586 133MHz to 160MHZ and that was without a fan. Next was a K6-2 500 to 560 but that was one hot SOB and my current setup which you can see in my sig.
I have put together a few oc'd PC's for friends though of which, my 1st for some one else, was a T'bird 700 which does 1100MHz (10x110) which is still my best oc and that is still runnin' strong though the fellow is startin' to think about something with more poke again. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

Albinus
02-22-2002, 06:54 PM
I don't think you should be so quick to judge all Via chipsets from your experience with the AOpen AK33 - a KT133 board


The AK33 is an AWESOME little board, as long as you don't need overclocking features. I used to use this for all my Duron systems that I built :)

RDR
02-22-2002, 08:34 PM
I've never used one Albinus so I really can't comment.....It was just a response to God's conclusion that all Via chipsets suck based on his experience with that board.:cheers:

I still say there are some poor KT133 boards out there, the Epox 8KTA2 is one of them, I've had the misfortune to set up 2 different PC's with that board.
Later bios revisions help a lot.......

Albinus
02-23-2002, 12:24 PM
Yes RDR - I know you weren't criticising it - but our college has several Duron 750 machines running with the AK33, as it is cheap, fast (for a KT133) and stable. Excellent OEM board ;)

Raven
02-23-2002, 04:32 PM
I'd rather spring the money for a GHz Athlon for a server or a secondary PC and leave it at that.

Duron's are great for low cost, and those who aren't interested in heavy gaming or hardcore computing.

Oldbugger
02-26-2002, 09:50 AM
A long list of overclocks:
Cyrix pr200 (150Mhz - 2*75 up to 187.5Mhz - 2.5*75)
Cyrix PR300 (250Mhz 3*83 up to 266Mhz 4*66) really hot
Celeron 366 @ 550
Duron 600 @ 900
Athlon 900 @ 1066
Athlon 1200 @ 1403 (133.64*10.5) - just gave it to the dorta - would boot at 1470 (133.64*11)
Athlon 1333 @ 1604 (133.64*12) - would boot at 1737 (133.64*13) but crashed in Win or DOS

No luck with fsb overclocks at higher multipliers on the Athlons....turned out to be a sus drive that wouldn't tolerate fsb increases.

retired now for a while....running a nice and QUIET duron 1000....waiting



PS what happened to the chips???
both Cyrix chips died quickly
the celery is still going at 413
the Duron is still going at 900
the TB900 is around at 990 still
the 1200 won't take voltage increases but will run at 1403 at standard v
the 1333 is still strong as an ox but #2son runs it at stock only now the fun is over..

Morgan_Lander
03-03-2002, 04:10 AM
In my experience, AMD rules in overclocking. The highest I've been able to hit with an intel chip was 500MHz off a 400MHz PPGA Celeron. My Duron 800 was run as high as 1074MHz stable. I've got my 1.4GHz T-bird hitting 1.58GHz right now.

Albinus
03-03-2002, 01:07 PM
Both AMD and Intel have had "exceptional" overclocking chips. For instance, the Celeron "A" 300MHz was almost guaranteed to hit 450MHz with only a simple voltage increase. Ditto the Duron 600MHz, many hit 1GHz without too much trouble. So they come and go in stages - I wouldn't stick my neck out and say that one vendor's CPUs are more overclockable than the other's ;)

Wiggo
03-03-2002, 02:51 PM
What Albinus said is very true as atm the ball is back in Intel's court with their P4 1.6A CPU as most are reporting between 2.2-2.4GHz which by today's standards is a very good increase. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

Morgan_Lander
03-03-2002, 03:22 PM
Yeah, I've been reading about that.
In my experience, I've probably not gotten the best OC'ing chips from Intel. I tried to get a couple of 700E's, but ended up with the 800EB's (for my VP6).

Wiggo
03-03-2002, 04:31 PM
Yes well there's quite a bit of difference between the two. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

sKuLLsHoT
03-05-2002, 11:08 AM
my efforts:

pent 75 to 90 (my dad went sick when i showed him :D )
cyrix [email protected] (runs but locks up under HEAVY load, 233 is happy)
[email protected] (i so wanted 600, but i think the board was holding it back)
Duron [email protected] (now sits happily at 933, its a blue core)
Athy 1GHz to 1170 or somefin...was just playing
yet to OC my new P4 1.6 (not A :( )

system states: no deaths as yet, athy is chipped to buggery tho, still worx ;)

Anonymous
03-05-2002, 11:15 AM
Off memory:

Cyrix 150 - 200 (I was very pumped that day :D )
Celeron 333a - 550MHz (Still I found that impressive)
Pentium 3 450MHz - 600MHz (So so)
Pentium 3 800MHz - 1000MHz
Pentium 4 1.3GHz - 1.7GHz
Pentium 4 1.6A - 2.4GHz
AMD Athlon 1GHz to 1.33GHz (several times)
AMD Athlon 1.33GHz to 1.4GHz (several times)

:)

Dai the Flu
03-07-2002, 11:44 PM
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected] (dual)
Mac Quadra 605 [email protected] (soldering iron for this one)

ok... well that's messed

Wiggo
03-08-2002, 07:44 AM
Good to see ya back Dai. :thumb:

Anonymous
03-08-2002, 08:44 AM
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected] (dual)
Mac Quadra 605 [email protected] (soldering iron for this one)

Strange, I didn't post this. Wonder what is wrong... :(

Wiggo
03-08-2002, 09:04 AM
Now that is strange as it wasn't there when I posted before. :confused:
<center>:cheers:</center>

JealousMidget
03-08-2002, 01:36 PM
Not too many here:

Athy Classic 600 @ 850 (using it right now)
TBird 1400 @ 1663 (quietly waiting for new GF3) Woohoo

Dai the Flu
03-08-2002, 10:30 PM
I like to pop my head in once in a while :)

How's it going ya'll :)

Wiggo
03-08-2002, 11:15 PM
Things are goin' pretty good thanx except for the odd glitch now and again. ;)
<center>:cheers:</center>

Dai the Flu
03-09-2002, 11:41 AM
damn glitches... at least you have a half decent computer :) i left my comps to my family when I moved out... including my dual machine... oh well... I'll finally get my iBook when I get my tax return :)

(when your stuck fixing windows boxes all day, an absolutly idiot proof machine is a blessing :) )

Anonymous
03-16-2002, 08:42 AM
My first overclock was an AMD 5x86 (a 486 based chip that clock multiplied by 4, unlike the 486DX4 that multiplied by 3) so changing the speed from 33 to 40MHz got me to 160MHz instead of 133MHz - I was well chuffed, made quite a difference - it outpaced my friend's Pentium-75

Dai the Flu
03-17-2002, 12:55 AM
the chip came at 133 MHz? i didn't know that amd made a "486" at that speed...

Wiggo
03-17-2002, 08:10 AM
Yeah AMD's 586 133MHz CPU was for 486 boards and very easy to run at 160MHz even without a fan on the heatsink as that was my 1st o/c and that is still runnin' at my mother-in-law's place. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Dai the Flu
03-17-2002, 11:35 AM
that's crazy...

Wiggo
03-17-2002, 11:38 AM
Now why is that? :?:
:beer: :beer: :beer:

Dai the Flu
03-18-2002, 02:26 AM
i didn't realize any company had achieved that on the 486 type chip... you learn something new every day

Wiggo
03-18-2002, 03:48 AM
Well Intel had a similar version called the "486 Overclock" which ran at 120MHz as well. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Oldbugger
03-22-2002, 04:57 AM
Yeah and if we had access to some of today's heatsinks they probably would have gone a lot higher....my old dx4100 (actually 3*33) got up to the dizzying heights of 108 (3*36) with a lot of coaxing of the old mobo (actually got an electrician to fidget with the clock...dunno what he did but it didn't survive more than a couple of days)...that was the problem in those days...you didn't have the flexibility in the mobos/bioses

Shepps
03-24-2002, 04:02 AM
My overclocking experience....hmmm...500mhz is about it with my duron 750mhz, thats only cus with my ECS board all i can do is change the FSB...which sucks

peters73
05-01-2002, 01:26 PM
My overclocking experience, Was my first Pentium II 333 slot 1. I had this chip overclocked to a 385, I was happy with this. It did'nt run too well. Dum clock-lock on the chip.