PDA

View Full Version : OK I,m ready to change over ....now which mo board?



mrdennisg
08-22-2003, 12:41 PM
After letting a friend use my puter (that will never happen again) he causeed me to have to purchase a new motherboard.

Question is which motherboard should I match up to my amd 1800 processor?

Is this good ?

ASRock K7S8X

maximus7001
08-22-2003, 12:58 PM
Explain more, did the old mobo get broken in half or something?

mrdennisg
08-22-2003, 01:22 PM
I have a pcchips 810l version 5.0 with ami bios

with the board on bench with memory and cpu and fan the only thing installed. System will not post video Tried everything reset , removed batt changed memory, used i stick at a time, tried with pci nvidea 64meg card, tried 2 different psu.

Nothing seems to work

When psu is plugged in and power switched by pw from case front switch syst fan cpu fan, video card fan all comes on it even powers up all drives but cannot go any further

maximus7001
08-22-2003, 01:27 PM
What other gfx card have you used

mrdennisg
08-22-2003, 01:34 PM
just tried another 128 mb apolloo

still nothing and they are both agp not pci

maximus7001
08-22-2003, 01:40 PM
Sounds bad, did it stop working before you got it back? Maybe somebody switched something on you. Like the ram? Or the cpu? Was the guy playing with jumpers etc? Maybe the battery is dead now.

mrdennisg
08-22-2003, 01:42 PM
Just went from hang on windows loading ,like forever , to this

If it is a virus in my bios can I remove bios chip and have it reflashed out of machine?

maximus7001
08-22-2003, 01:45 PM
As I said, did you try a different battery. And timeframe for when this started. Before or after you got it back, and how long.
So you can't get to the bios obviously?

mrdennisg
08-22-2003, 01:50 PM
Yes tried new batt. and system rocked before he got it

When I returned he had disabled the firewall and thats why I thought he infected it with a bios virus

maximus7001
08-22-2003, 02:09 PM
Well thats a ****ty deal. For the new mobo, you will have to wait until one of the mobo guru's replies. All I know about asrock is that it's an offshoot of asus and it's a new line.
As for the switching of parts, I have seen it all. I have discovered different memory in machines that I built that someone had switched with fried ones(not even the same brand or speed). I have seen cpu's and hard drives switched as well. I get this machine back from a customer to fix and to my surprise, there is an old 3gig in there(totally fried yet)in place of the 30gig. Ppl do **** like that.
Is the hd plugged in? If it is, maybe it's toast.

As unlikely as it is, it was just an idea.
Oh well, I tried, good luck.
If you can think of anything else, post back. I gotta go now.

mrdennisg
08-22-2003, 02:13 PM
Thanks for keeping me thinking of more things u a "BIG" help

see ya and I will keep checking back here as I have no idea what to do now Hey thanks again you'v been a big help


Now this is where I sheepishly say ,

"Next,, anyone else want to give a go .. " ;)

amd_man2005
08-22-2003, 08:16 PM
Man your the luckiest **** in the world having that PCChips mobo die on ya, I got one of em, and damn are they a ****pile. You get a new mobo and you wont know what hit you. Personally, Id get the EPoX EP-8rda+

gh0stsurf
08-23-2003, 06:49 AM
Dont cheap out on the mobo, go for manufacturer like asus or gigabyte for that xp1800 or else you'll just end up replacing it again or worse... It will work, but be an even bigger pile of **** mobo.

gh0stsurf
08-23-2003, 06:51 AM
Yes tried new batt. and system rocked before he got it

When I returned he had disabled the firewall and thats why I thought he infected it with a bios virus

There aren't that many bios viruses these days and it's very unlikely that it would be the case even with the firewall disabled.

gh0stsurf
08-23-2003, 06:56 AM
I'd go with an asus mobo like this one (http://www.googlegear.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=240273)

this one might be better if your on a budget (http://www.googlegear.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=240732)

maximus7001
08-23-2003, 03:15 PM
:thumb:

Soulburner
08-24-2003, 04:36 AM
If you plan to OC don't get the Via.