PDA

View Full Version : 250 fsb possible?



GamingSniper
09-08-2003, 11:59 AM
is a 250 (500 total) fsb possible on any Nforce2 boards, with or without 2nd hand bios's i was just wondering if this is possible, preferable without going to water cooling.

Soulburner
09-09-2003, 11:54 AM
It is possible, but not with air cooling.

The highest I see normally on air cooling is in the 230s with voltage modding on Abit NF7 boards (usually 1700+ DLT3C).

The record that I have seen so far was 277 on an A7N8X.

The guys doing that are dripping LN on the CPU to sustain it though....crazy Japanese sob's.

smokin_pc
09-09-2003, 11:59 AM
u can, and as soulburner say, not with air cooling


u will also be better to OC with the new PC4000 ram running at 500mhz DDR>

Soulburner
09-09-2003, 12:07 PM
u will also be better to OC with the new PC4000 ram running at 500mhz DDR>
Thats way overkill for AMDs....they will be underclocking that RAM...

smokin_pc
09-09-2003, 12:12 PM
3dgameman.com did a video review and he said he did 260+mhz on them (or 520mhz ddr.) With the new 64bit athlon coming out, i htink the ram wont be used at a underclocked rate.

Soulburner
09-09-2003, 01:10 PM
Yes, but he is asking about Nforce 2 boards.....which won't run an Opteron.