PDA

View Full Version : P4S333 mobo and OS/2



Ed Mann
02-25-2002, 11:41 PM
I bought a new P4S333 mobo this weekend, along with a P4 1.7
processor and 256 meg of ddr 33 memory. After installing Mobo
in existing case (ATX) and current hard drives from previous mobo, I find that I cannot boot OS/2 or any other operating system except DOS.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts or ideas on this problem.

Tried Win 95 as well, no go....

Darthtanion
02-26-2002, 01:49 AM
Silly question, but I'll ask it anyway...

Did you format the current hard drive and try to install your choice of OS fresh?

Wiggo
02-26-2002, 01:58 AM
Also what was the previous system in that ATX case? :?:
:beer: :beer: :beer: :beer: :beer:

Ed Mann
02-26-2002, 02:36 AM
Silly question, but I'll ask it anyway...

Did you format the current hard drive and try to install your choice of OS fresh?

No, was holding that as a very last resort.
tHANKS

Ed Mann
02-26-2002, 02:38 AM
Also what was the previous system in that ATX case? :?:
:beer: :beer: :beer: :beer: :beer:

Several versions of OS/2, Win95, BeOS and RedHat 7.2 along with a PC DOS Partition.

Thanks for the response.

Wiggo
02-26-2002, 02:42 AM
Ummm...... I meant hardware wise but you do have to reinstall the operating system when do major surgery like that. :smokin:
:beer: :beer: :beer: :beer: :beer:

Ed Mann
02-26-2002, 02:45 AM
previous system was GiGaByte 7x1e (?) mobo with slot A athlon.
3 ide drives, 2scsi cd's (1 rw) um, 256 meg of ram, Matrox Millenium 200 AGP video card, LINKSYS LNE100TX nic.... been in place for a while... never had to reinstall OS/2 before...realize that does not mean I won't have to....

Wiggo
02-26-2002, 04:17 AM
So have you got the 2nd power conection to the motherboard fitted? :?:
:beer: :beer: :beer: :beer: :beer:

Darthtanion
02-26-2002, 05:13 AM
Since you state that the system will boot to DOS, you'll want to go ahead and enter the BIOS, choose CD-ROM as your first boot device, and then reinstall the operating system. The only way that you can move a hard drive from one system to another is if the chipset on the board is identical... and then it's still not a guarantee. Different chipsets comminicate with the OS in a different manner. Your current install of OS/2 has no earthly idea how to talk with the components on your new setup. And to make matters worse, it's looking for a slotted Athlon processor and not the socketed P4 that is currently residing in your new toy.

Sorry, but there isn't any way to just add the old hard drive and go. If you still have the other components, you can try to boot up from there and save off any important data.

Good luck.

Anonymous
02-26-2002, 10:13 AM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Wiggo
[B]So have you got the 2nd power conection to the motherboard fitted? :?:
:beer: :beer: :beer: :beer: :beer:

You will no doubt be happy to know that I have resolved the problem. It was in fact the NIC card that caused the problem. I removed the NIC card and rem'ed out the statement in the config.sys that loaded the driver and the machine bootedbooted just fine. Thanks for the help.

Darthtanion
02-26-2002, 12:38 PM
Does OS/2 work off a DOS background then?