PDA

View Full Version : Dumb question...MSI & RAM



Ricky1810
09-30-2003, 11:50 AM
I have a MSI KT3 Ultra2

Here is the link:

http://www.msi.com.tw/program/products/mainboard/mbd/pro_mbd_detail.php?UID=341&MODEL=MS-6380E


"Main Memory
* Supports six memory banks using three 184-pin DDR DIMMs
* Supports a maximum memory size up to 3GB
* Supports 2.5V DDR200/266/333 DDR SDRAM DIMM
* NO support ECC Function"



So, can I buy 2 sticks of 1024G DDR 333 ??????
:shrug:

minibubba
09-30-2003, 11:56 AM
So, can I buy 2 sticks of 1024G DDR 333 ??????
:shrug: I hope you mean 1024 MB, not GB ;) ...yes you can use 1 gig sticks, but the last time I checked, gig sticks were bloody expensive. Unless you are planning on doing memory demanding tasks on a regualar basis, 2x 512 MB sticks should suite you very well.

:cheers:

JSR
09-30-2003, 12:55 PM
are priced relative to their counterparts, about a buck 30 for the gig sticks and half that for 512's. regardless, the latency of the memory should be of consideration, as well as any attempts to overclock for your final selection

Soulburner
09-30-2003, 02:26 PM
Do you plan on overclocking? If not, then whatever you get will be fine.

If so, then I would suggest an Nforce2 chipset board such as the Abit NF7, with PC3200 capable memory at minimum.

Ricky1810
09-30-2003, 08:39 PM
Yep. my bad.... 1024MB:P

I just want to buy a stick, and in the future, a second one.

OK, they are really expensive, but If I buy a 512 stick, then, iŽll be stuck with if I want to upgrade...

Soulburner: I donŽt plan on OC...
Is my mobo a bad choice???

From the link, I saw that can be upgraded to 3000+ ( in a couple of months IŽll upgrade it)
Is that right? Or just utopic???
:wow:

Neil2094
09-30-2003, 08:44 PM
Its not a bad board but there a couple of things. Your better off going with a Nforce 2 chipset and 400 fsb support.

Ricky1810
10-01-2003, 12:01 AM
I thought that there was not difference in performance between 2700 and 3200. Just read in almost every review... please correct me if IŽm wrong:hammer:

Option 1
If it really MAKES a difference, maybe, IŽll just buy a new mobo with 400 fsb and 3200 support.
(DonŽt really want to do it...)

Option 2
If it DOESNT make a difference, then IŽll just stick with my mobo, buy a 1024 ddr 2700, and in time, iŽl buy the other one, with a new mobo nforce 2 to really use the dual channel.

Please shoot your thoughts
:thumb:

JSR
10-01-2003, 03:26 AM
and then there's a notch above for overclocking purposes

Ricky1810
10-01-2003, 04:11 AM
So... let me get this straight....

If i donŽt OC, then, Im fine with 2700....

And if I DO, then I should buy 3200...


Is that right?????

JSR
10-01-2003, 05:57 AM
.............:thumb:

Ricky1810
10-01-2003, 06:10 AM
Okokok, 3200 only shines when you OC it...

But when I go back to 2700, if what youŽre saying is true, 2700 is really a bad one when it comes to OC it.


So now the real question is... Why????

JSR
10-01-2003, 06:22 AM
you can't have any bottlenecks.........the module gives you room to move and groove......and, what are you lookin' at?..........the difference in price between the two is all.................and, if you buy paired ram, you could transfer it if and when you'd buy a dual channel board, and you might consider the needs of the cpu that would sit in that upgrade, and what it's requirements are

Ricky1810
10-01-2003, 08:59 PM
How much is an average 1024 DDR 2700?, and 3200?

In USA I mean... Miami?

JSR
10-01-2003, 09:07 PM
about a buck 30 for a gig stick of 2700 and a buck 50 for a gig stck of 3200.............20 bucks diff

Ricky1810
10-01-2003, 09:17 PM
Mmm.... there really isnŽt much of a difference... but then again, iŽd have to buy a new mobo if i go with 3200...:(

Which mobo is the right mobo, and how much is it???


Im really sorry for all this questions, but here in BsAs, no one knows sh*t about new hardware... Here everyone thinks a 5200 is THE vidcard...

JSR
10-02-2003, 02:55 AM
put in the max the board is capable of and forget it..............and, forget all this added memory stuff as well unless (scroll up to bubba) you need it. It's obviously a step below the dual channel nf2 boards, and if that's the way you want to go, then there you have it, buy the memory all at once paired for dual channel operation and transdfer over your procceor at that point and whatever it is, it may be overclockable from that configuration or just have two computers.........did i confuse you enough?:?:

Ricky1810
10-02-2003, 07:34 AM
can you draw it for me???? Imagine iŽm like 9 years old....:confused:


Why i want 2x1024, instead of 2x512?

Basically, to be able to play games with the most eye candy possible!!!!!!

But here is the real deal... I live in Argentina, and canŽt buy everything at once. My father travels to miami once a month, so I can buy piece by piece my PC there.

Where I live, 2 sticks of 512 are like 200 bucks. (95-100 each)

I can buy a stick of 1024 in Miami for 130 bucks. Do the maths.

In time, I can buy the other one, and a mobo nf2.

JSR
10-02-2003, 07:43 AM
no ricky if you upgrade to a nf2 you have to buy paired ram right then and there, no buying one stick, then buying the other.....understand if you really need that amount of ram, an new board, several trips, etc...........if i were you, i'd have a gig of ram, max and if you want to buy it in one stick, fine. stay to your max of 2700 and make it low latency cas 2 stuff. then 1 trip and you're a done deal .......understand, junior?

Ricky1810
10-02-2003, 11:04 AM
Oks!!!!!!!!

I think iŽll do that:beer:

Thanks:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

JSR
10-02-2003, 11:57 AM
:thumb: