PDA

View Full Version : cpu start up problem



firewolf
10-24-2003, 04:51 AM
i had just bought a new cpu fan, aero 7 lite for my barton 2500+ on a A78NX. after a little pushing and shoving but no damage i put it on. i connected everything back and when i tried starting up my monitor doesn't get a signal. so i try reseting my cmos still no activity... any sugestions
thx

minibubba
10-24-2003, 05:07 AM
check that the video card didn't get a little loose duruing your activites. just make sure that it is completely seated in the slot

firewolf
10-24-2003, 06:17 AM
graphics card is securly fit in the agp slot, monitor cable also secure... anychance i might have damage the mobo? i don't think i did...

amd_man2005
10-24-2003, 07:26 AM
May have cracked the CPU core

Steve(MrScruff)
10-25-2003, 06:00 AM
Well, have you tried your monitor with another computer? Make sure that works.

firewolf
10-26-2003, 07:53 AM
Ok... i forgot to mention my keyboard and mouse doen't turn on either, so does that mean i need a new motherboard... or did i forget to plug something? cause i rechecked several times and everything seems to be in place

Steve(MrScruff)
10-27-2003, 07:37 PM
Okay so when you switch your computer on does the Power Supply Box work? Do the fans start spinning.

Can you try mounting the old fan again? I know this is unlikely to be the cause of the problem but you never know.

What did you connect the heatsink too, to power it? Check over your power leads and connectors to the mother boards to make sure you have the right leads going to the right connectors.

Hope some of that helps.

firewolf
10-30-2003, 07:55 AM
ok... powersupply working fine, i think, all fans are go including case fans but no hardware activity...
i tried switching it back to the old fan but still nothing...
is it a cpu problem or a mobo prob?

firewolf
10-30-2003, 08:09 AM
cd drive opens/closes
mouse and keyboard no lights
theres a green light that is constantly on... im not sure what it is cause i lost the hand book that came with the motherboard.
power lead and conductors are all in a bit of a tangle but all put in correctly
and tried different monitors and still problems

Steve(MrScruff)
10-30-2003, 08:57 PM
Jeeze, I can't believe just changing your fan has screwed up your computer so much. The green light means there is power going to the motherboard, me thinks. It should stay on all the time or maybe thats the yellow light. So we got power coming to your mother board but hmmm maybe the extra power needed to power the fan has blown a conductor(or whatever they are called) within the motherboard - then again if this had happened the older fan should work. I don't want to say it incase it isn't but through the process of illimination it sounds like theres a problem with your motherboard. How long have you had it for now?

ta ta

Fox
10-30-2003, 09:34 PM
after a little pushing and shoving

Dude... exactly how much pushing & shoving are we talking about here... like; It easily snapped in after a slight push; pushing and shoving... or like; It wasn't easy but after a couple of hits with a sledge hammer and a couple of nails to keep it positioned it stayed in its' place; pushing and shoving? Cos it sounds like whatever amount of force you've put on the thing is taking its' toll.

firewolf
10-31-2003, 05:46 AM
ive had my cpu for about almost 6 months now
and no i didn't hitmy computer ith a hammer :hammer:

Fox
10-31-2003, 05:34 PM
no i didn't hitmy computer ith a hammer :hammer:

Lol, I hope not dude. The question wasn't literal btw. I was just asking about the amount of force you had to use to put the thing in, cos in yur initial statement you said you had to do a little pushin and shoving. - I just wanted to know what degree of pushing and shoving.

Cpt.Crappy
10-31-2003, 11:20 PM
it's got to be a mobo problem. the power for the fan runs through the motherboard. the fan should turn on with the power switch on, even though the computer doesn't have to post. mayb when you "pushed" you might have bent a capactior or maybe even esd'd the mobo. did you wear a ground strap? test your mouse, keyboard, video card, etc. with another system to see if it works. if it does then it's more than likely a mobo problem.

Soulburner
11-01-2003, 03:25 AM
it's got to be a mobo problem. the power for the fan runs through the motherboard. the fan should turn on with the power switch on, even though the computer doesn't have to post.
That's not necessarily correct. None of my fans run through my board for power other than the CPU. All of my case fans are straight off the PSU.

Steve(MrScruff)
11-01-2003, 04:48 PM
sweet what type of power supply unit do you have?
ta ta steve

firewolf
11-04-2003, 09:26 AM
PSU-420 watts
all case fans work but just everything else doesn't.
i tried my old fan which supplied its power from the motherboard and it works
so most likely i bent or broke something important on my motherboard?

Steve(MrScruff)
11-04-2003, 04:55 PM
Yeah most likely. Maybe its time to upgrade the motherboard or is covered under a guarantee? Bit of a bummer really.

ta ta

kane2g
11-04-2003, 05:20 PM
From personal experience it could be 1of3 things.
1. CPU is hot (someone pulled out the CPU fan plug after I plugged it in, I swear! :o ) easy fix, let it cool down for an hour and try again.
2. CPU is dead. mobo good.
This is easy, if you got a spare chip that you can test the mobo with.
3. Mobo is dead. Sux, but ah well.
Or combo of 3and2. mobo killed CPU.

But you better hope that you got good dealers that are willing to exchange the stuff you bought.

elrado1
11-04-2003, 09:40 PM
There is another option, which is the video card. If possible, try it in another computer. If that is not possible, return it and have the supplier verify if it's good or not. Resetting the CMOS may have been the culprit or some other stray electrical surge. (Static electrical discharge.)

Obviously the CPU cooler fan is connected properly to the mobo or else the whole thing would shut down.

kane2g
11-05-2003, 05:49 AM
actually you might want to swap ram as well, it also could be the culprit.

firewolf
11-08-2003, 07:52 AM
so lets see...you want me to,
1. Check cup on different computer (formating driver installation)
2. Try a different cpu on my motherboard (yet again formatting driver installation)
3. Switch my graphics card to another computer (AND AGAIN formatting driver installation)
4. Switch ram?
wow.

Steve(MrScruff)
11-08-2003, 09:47 AM
In my drunken state :drunk: i say sell that old fox on ebay and buy a new computer ;) or even better sell the parts seperatly so you can't get done when the computer doesn't work. I take it we still haven't solved your problem cause its been over a week that your computers been down :(

:laugh: ta ta steve w