PDA

View Full Version : ethernet card - for ADSL??



snooper
11-02-2003, 07:37 PM
hey folks.

i just bought myself a new PC. the mobo, a gigabyte (details here: http://tw.giga-byte.com/MotherBoard/Products/Products_GA-8IG1000MK.htm ) has an o/b Intel ethernet card was advertised by the shop as "ADSL ready".
now i'm told i have to get a seperate card to be able to connect to ADSL.

was i had? did i just misunderstand??
clarifications apprecaited!
Thanks
Sn

Thoric
11-02-2003, 07:51 PM
what usually happens is a DSL modem (external) is used; the phone line goes into the modem, then it transfers information to your computer through a cat5 ethernet network cable. this goes into your network card, unless you have a router or part of a computer network.

snooper
11-02-2003, 10:58 PM
Thanks Thoric!