PDA

View Full Version : overcloking amd 550



PaPaPuffALot
03-04-2002, 02:55 PM
i was woundering if anyone knew of a artical or thread of anyone over cloking a amd k6-2 550 on a ga-5ax M/B

Wiggo
03-04-2002, 03:06 PM
Your pretty much at the max there with one of those and pushin' it any further is very likely to kill it. Some "Plus" versions will make around 600 but usually not very stable. Best just to use it as a server. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Albinus
03-04-2002, 04:00 PM
Yes, the standard version of the 550MHz K6-2 was pushed right to its limits, overclocked if you like. Don't try to go any higher or you'll more than likely kill the CPU as Wiggo said :eek:

Penguinfreak
03-08-2002, 08:34 PM
k6-2s are not the best overclockers in the world (.25 micron process?) and you can probably overclock a slower one, but a 550 is at the end of the range. Sell it, and get yourself a Tbird 1000 AXIA or AHYJA (I think) - they will often overclock to about 1200MHz+

kyle
03-17-2002, 06:28 PM
I have a k62 550 that i have overclocked to 620 stabely. 5 *124. Up the volatage to 2.5 or 2.6 with good cooling.

Wiggo
03-17-2002, 08:48 PM
A rare good 1 ya got there. ;)
:beer: :beer: :beer: