PDA

View Full Version : What motherboard(s) do you use?



Anonymous
03-04-2002, 07:44 PM
Myself:

1) Soyo Dragon Ultra (SiS 645) with Intel Pentium 4 1.6A @ 2.41GHz
2) MSI 815EP (Intel 815EP) with Intel Pentium 3 800MHz @ 1GHz
3) FIC AZ11EA (VIA KT133A) with AMD Athlon 1.33GHz @ 1.33GHz

:)

Wiggo
03-04-2002, 08:00 PM
EPoX MVP3-C2 (http://www.epox.com/html/english/products/motherboard/ep-mvp3c.htm), Gigabyte GA-7VRXP (http://us.giga-byte.com/products/7vrxp.htm), Gigabyte GA-5AA (http://us.giga-byte.com/products/ga5aa.htm) and ECS K7S5A (http://www.ecsusa.com/K7S5A.cfm)
:beer: :beer: :beer:

Darthtanion
03-04-2002, 08:08 PM
EPoX 8KHA+

galeener
03-05-2002, 08:40 AM
Gigabyte 7vrxp

ct_
03-05-2002, 10:32 AM
MAIN: gigabyte ga-5ax - with amd k6/2 500

2ND: gigabyte ga-5ax - with amd k6/3 450

3RD: dunno, and SGI machine - with a 100mhzRISC cpu

4TH: Toshiba (laptop) - with amd k6-2 380

5TH: i ferget, @ my mom's house, some intel board - with a PII 400

6TH: another gigabyte ga-5ax, unknown condition, as a spare

7TH: elpina 9823 (i think) repaired but untested PII board

8th: epox mvp3c-m - well, as of 15 minutes ago, it would have been #8, but it popped a mosfet and smoked up the lab... :(( - would have had an amd k6-2 380 (which i think is fried too :snip: )

9th: dunno yet, still looking for a INTEL cpu/mobo combo (see thread "$25.00" in whatshouldibuy forum


-- and enough spare parts for 3 more computers capable of running win98se

Anonymous
03-05-2002, 10:54 AM
Nice collection there... :)

Sir MMPD
03-05-2002, 12:08 PM
Abit Th7-Raid

Andy
03-06-2002, 11:55 AM
aopen ax63 pro in mine and msi 6163 in the family comp

Bahamut Zer0
03-06-2002, 06:54 PM
EPoX 8KHA+
EPoX 8K7A+
ASUS CUV4X-C
ECS mobo in me linux box
iBook series 2

Morgan_Lander
03-06-2002, 11:08 PM
AOpen AK77 Pro (Main rig)
Abit VP6 (backup rig)
Asus A7V (file server)

SSJGoku57
03-07-2002, 08:28 AM
Man i got the crappest mother board made by compaq, like it hardly performes to it's standereds, it complains and winges like a australian council worker, and only does 10 minutes of work and the rest of the day on break!

Never Buy a Gaypaq, they area silent killer!!

JealousMidget
03-07-2002, 05:12 PM
Epox 8k7a+ and a Compaq with an athlon classic 600 @ 850 that is still kicking... despite all my experimentation. :p

JM

Albinus
03-07-2002, 05:28 PM
The ones of any interest around here.....

Shuttle AV40R (my machine)
AOpen AX59 Pro (Mum's machine)
Intel D845WN (still haven't finished my review yet) :uhh:
AOpen AX37 Plus
AOpen AX3S Pro
PC Chips M747 (actually works believe it or not)

All the rest are Pentium boards or lower... very boring :sleepy:

Synthetic
03-08-2002, 09:49 PM
umm....Sis620 -sits in the corner and cries-:( :cry:

Acid
03-09-2002, 04:13 AM
Abit BD7-RAID
Abit KR7A-RAID
Iwill KK266-R

JediAgent
03-09-2002, 07:38 AM
The one the only KG7-RAID

zeradul
03-11-2002, 11:03 AM
ct, we'll just call you the computer antique warehouse...
hehe

Epox 8KHA+
Toshiba Laptop
PII mobo, Intel PD440 I believe

ct_
03-11-2002, 08:43 PM
update:

#6 is dead :((


but what a nice puff of smoke when it went!

and after cleaning up the lab, i have just one more board, the PII one, waiting for a cpu to see if it works, if so, that'll be the last one to make into a working PC

i then have just one other case for an ATX board, and that'll be the end of spare parts that can be made into working systems


of course, i still have several floppy drives, both 3.5 and 5.25, and lots of ISA nics and SCSI cards, as well as a few decent vid cards, and two DVD decoder cards, and a stupendous amount of internal cables and connectors


:)

Beefy
03-12-2002, 05:27 AM
MSI KT266A Pro 2
MSI K7T Pro 2-A
Gigabyte BX2000
Old Compaq Laptop....

and some other piece of crap Celeron board which I haven't got a case for....

JediAgent
03-12-2002, 06:29 AM
My mom's (i built) uses a Chaintech 7AJA2, but that was a mistake...

TisMeDT
04-01-2002, 10:32 AM
Heres my list to add to this poll

Epox 8KHA+ 1700+ @1604
ECS K7S6A Duron 1200 (still testing)
ECS K7S5A Duron 1000 @1200
AZZA ??? Duron 800
Chaintech Athlon 850
Iwill bd100 (like a rock) pII 350*
Matsonic pII 400*
* = inactive at present

Rancher
04-03-2002, 05:37 AM
Gigabyte 7vrxp

:?: What ver: is your GIG-7vrxp and are you running the raid side or standerd, and are you using ATA/133 hard drives at mode 6

Shepps
04-03-2002, 06:38 AM
My comp ECS K7VZA V1g + Duron 750 (runs ok...i want an expox!)

My dad's Intel 810 made by emachines (its sucks - 37% system resources when running messenger, realone and web browser ) with an Intel Clerey 600

Oldbugger
04-03-2002, 06:39 AM
1. Epox 8KTA3 (Tbird [email protected]) #2son's machine
2. Epox 8KTA3 (Tbird 1200) for the dorta
3. Epox 8KTA3L+ (Duron 1g) for me

all a bit dated now but I will hold off till the hammers arrive....

Shepps
04-03-2002, 06:43 AM
Ur children have better comps than you! ?:?: :?: :?: :?: lol

JediAgent
04-03-2002, 07:40 AM
all a bit dated now but I will hold off till the hammers arrive....

Good man, wait til the upgrade is really worth it. Im waiting fer Serial ATA, a Hammer, and possibly a DVD-R. Than a new system, and a two days into that the hammer will be O/C'ed.

hbidad
04-03-2002, 09:06 AM
MSI Kt266a pro 2-RU on both of my pc's

Abit KT7a raid sitting on my shelf..

MSI Nforce for the Moms

Abit KT7 raid for the brother in law...

pcchips with Celeron 500 for the brother

and as you can see they all get to but the hand-me-downs :)

Andy
04-03-2002, 07:32 PM
aopen ax63 pro in mine and msi 6163 in the family comp

FIC AZ11EA in the family comp
soon to be asus A7V333 in mine :D

Mr.Tweak
04-03-2002, 09:56 PM
FIC AZ11EA in the family comp

Really? :D ;)

Oldbugger
04-04-2002, 11:23 AM
Shepps,
yeah I build'm and play with them for a while, then give them to the kids....#2son is 21 and the dorta is 26.......and what the hell do I want with a [email protected] with a gf3ti card......the "kids" play games...I just tinker with office type stuff and linux...my system is more than enough for that

When the hammers arrive I might just get into the fast lane again

Andy
04-04-2002, 03:05 PM
Really? :D ;)

yes, really, why do you ask?? :?: :rolleyes: :D :p

Morgan_Lander
04-04-2002, 03:16 PM
Well, I got the VP6 replaced with a SuperMicro P3TDDE which has much better stability AT FREAKIN STOCK SPEEDS. I also just ordered the Epox 8K3A+

Thoric
04-05-2002, 11:22 AM
i myself still have a Abit KT7a (KT133a) still runs like gold :thumb:

Morgan_Lander
04-05-2002, 12:01 PM
Of course, whatever works for you, go for it.:thumb:

yaaaay! my Epox shipped. Too bad FedEx doesn't deliver on weekends...:(

Anonymous
04-06-2002, 10:57 AM
ASUS A7V333, it brings new joy to my life. This board rocks!!!

Andy
04-06-2002, 11:40 AM
ASUS A7V333, it brings new joy to my life. This board rocks!!!

cool... i'll have to get mine first, before it can bring new joy to my life

Soverign
04-06-2002, 12:40 PM
PC 1: EPoX 4BDA2+ (i845D)
PC 2: EPoX 4SDA+
PC 3: Gigabyte GA-7VRXP

dragon
04-06-2002, 01:48 PM
Abit KR7A

I highly recommend. :thumb:

Anonymous
04-17-2002, 06:07 AM
Guys

Please help me! I want to build my own work station for proffessional video editing but I don't know what is the best Motherboard to use.

William

Thax 1000000x


e-mail: [email protected]

Morgan_Lander
04-17-2002, 10:03 AM
A Pentium 4 with either an i850 chipset, like the Asus P4T-E or i845D like the Asus P4B266.

I would not use anything Abit. Epox is pretty good too, as is Super Micro and Tyan.

Kheldar
04-20-2002, 07:00 AM
Main PC : MSI k7t266 Pro2-RU with XP1800 & 768 Meg DDR & 160 HD
Wife PC: Jetway 866as-r with Duron 1200 & 256 DDR & 80 G HD

Kids PC: tekram P6b40-a4x with PII 333 & 288 Meg SDram

Print Server : Toshiba 110 laptop

Laptop : IBM Note book

etrix6
05-09-2002, 09:58 AM
Main: Soyo Dragon Plus, XP 1800
2nd: MSI, Athlon 900
3rd: FIC VA-503+, AMD 450
and some oldies:laugh:

smokie
05-11-2002, 03:07 PM
Run a MSI 845 Ultra on my machine. (P4 2.0GHz)
A Gigabyte GA-60XE on the wifes machine. (Plll 1.0GHz)
A Gigabyte GA-6VX7-1394 on my third machine. (Plll 866MHz)

Always went with the Gigabytes for years but they are very hard to get here in the Philippines, so went for the MSI and am very happy with it. :thumb:

hotrod
05-12-2002, 07:36 AM
Asus A7V333
256 DDR333
AMD Athlon XP 2000

Put it together 2 days ago.. Luv it so far, no problems.

Morgan_Lander
05-12-2002, 12:20 PM
Okay...I'll take that "never using Abit part again..." You might be able to tell from my lovely sig.

cHeEsY327
05-20-2002, 05:32 AM
Main Computer: EPoX 4SDA+

Secondary Computer: ABit BF6

Moose
05-20-2002, 08:14 AM
Well...I use..


Gigabyte GA-7VTXH+ w/ Athlon 1.53Ghz @ 1.72Ghz
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/products/7vtxh+.htm

Gigabyte GA-7ZXR w/ Athlon 1.1Ghz @ 1.1Ghz
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/products/7zxr_3.htm

:afro: :afro: :afro: :afro: :afro:

just1tree
05-21-2002, 12:12 AM
Asus A7A266 with tbird 1200 @ 1400
SOYO 6BA+ with pentium II 350

FLaCo
05-26-2002, 02:07 AM
ABit KX7...w/raid
Ahh time to play CS.!

SCS
05-26-2002, 12:08 PM
ASUS A7V333/A VIA KT333 - No RAID.
I can't wait 'till I sell my old one this week, ahh..Just enough to finish the new one and get it running :D Muhaha :flames:

Morgan_Lander
05-26-2002, 03:42 PM
*fires up Solitare on uber powerful system*

turn2dust
09-20-2002, 01:26 PM
1st pc.. asus p3v4x pIII 750

2nd pc.. biostar mvvkb amd duron 900

1 powerbook @ 133mhz 603e processor

1 apple desktop @ 130mhz 604 processor

pga1234
09-20-2002, 01:54 PM
Soon to be "Abit AT7-MAX2" in my comp :D

saidin
09-20-2002, 02:14 PM
Soon to be Abit AT7 Max2 also!!!:D

pga1234
09-20-2002, 04:01 PM
Soon to be Abit AT7 Max2 also!!!:D

:D, We can troubleshoot if we have any problems :). (I don't think I'll have any problems but ya never know :))

saidin
09-20-2002, 04:19 PM
the only thing I can think of is if they send me a dead mobo, and /or the hole 8x and radeon 9700 issue!

pga1234
09-20-2002, 04:26 PM
the only thing I can think of is if they send me a dead mobo, and /or the hole 8x and radeon 9700 issue!

You're getting a Radeon 9700?

pga1234
09-20-2002, 04:27 PM
the only thing I can think of is if they send me a dead mobo, and /or the hole 8x and radeon 9700 issue!


Also if you ever get it :( :cry:

saidin
09-20-2002, 04:30 PM
i think i am going to get the radeon 9700, the gigabyte version! and hopefully my mobo will be in tomorrow....but most likely on monday:cry:

pga1234
09-20-2002, 04:33 PM
That sucks, I really don't know which version I am going to get. I would like to stick with ATI but the other one's are sooo tempting. The hercules version is supposed to have a great HS setup. Anyway, I don't know! So many choices, :cry:.

FLaCo
09-21-2002, 08:00 AM
Max2 supports the newer Clawhammers?

pga1234
09-21-2002, 09:20 AM
I don't think it does. Would be nice though :).

rockcouey
09-21-2002, 10:52 AM
ASUS
AV7-266E DDR, Raid, AMD 1900+ cpu, Gig&half PC2100 Memory

Malabooboo
09-27-2002, 09:14 AM
Asus A7V333 (KT333) with Raid

I'm a real fan of Asus mobo's all the way back from the old days of Pentium 60's and 90's. I just bought this one, and a month later they come out with the A7V8X! :cry:

You guys seem to be mostly comprised of Epox boards...anyone have a link to a comparable (features AND price) Epox board? :thumb: