PDA

View Full Version : cmos problem



Cpt.Crappy
11-16-2003, 06:42 AM
i have an ecs L7S7A2 mobo and i moved it from my computer to my friends. it worked just fine with my stuff. all he has different is hd, cd-rom, v-card, and power supply. i started it up and the post beep 3 times and it said "cmos battery low. cmos memory size wrong." so i cleared it and got the same thing. windows still loads but i can't install a driver because it says my system is too slow. (startup will read the cpu as a 2400+, windows reads 256 of ram too). i cleared cmos a total of 8 times now. i still can't figure it out. i didn't change any settings when i moved the mobo. it's driving me crazy:mad:

maximus7001
11-16-2003, 07:39 AM
Did you reformat the drive? Make sure the first thing you do is the ecs chipset drivers after the install. The newest version is a must with win xp.

amd_man2005
11-16-2003, 08:25 AM
Your CMOS battery is running low, you need to get a new one

maximus7001
11-16-2003, 10:46 AM
That says that all the time with sis chipsets and win xp without the proper drivers. Come to think of it, almost every machine with sis chipset has told me that at one point or another. I would bet the battery has 3.1v according to a voltmeter(right where it should be). Other wierd things they do are stuff like s.m.a.r.t saying the hd is toast and trouble installing drivers for stuff like soundcards. All these things happen with sis chipsets that do not have the correct drivers. It was just the last release that seems to correct all the problems.(8.15b)

Cpt.Crappy
11-17-2003, 09:42 AM
i fixed the problem by goin into bios and selecting an option that said "auto detect dram frequency". don't know what it is but i saved and exited and it works. thanks for suggestions. by the way i know the battery isn't running low b/c it worked fine right before i moved it to my friends.