PDA

View Full Version : Problem with intalling new sound card in XP



bramtram
03-09-2002, 11:03 PM
Hi everyone!
I just purchased a brand new Hercules Muse XL sound card. When the techs
from the shop where I purchased it
tried to install it Windows XP refused to recognise it. Initially I was
going to buy Soundblaster Live 5.1 and they tried installing that card too
but were faced with the same problem. They told me that XP doesn't like new
hardware to be added to the system. (WHAAAT?!?!?) So they suggested I go
home and try to find something on the Net and if it still doesn't work I'll
have to reinstall my XP. I'm really not happy about this solutions and
that's why I'm looking for some help on this newsgroup. Here is my setup:
Abit KR7A Motherboard
AMD XP 1600+
256 DDR RAM
Hercules Muse XL soundcard
LG CD/DVD drive
Seagate 40Gig HDD

Any help or suggestions will be appreciated.
Cheers.

Wiggo
03-11-2002, 10:17 AM
Ya not gettin' much help here I've noticed and as it's got to do with Win XP so I'll move this to that forum and see if ya get a better deal there. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Sir MMPD
03-11-2002, 10:54 AM
Dunno if this will help ya much but try this page
http://www.hercules-uk.com/drivers/audio/Gamesurround_Muse_XL.asp

or
http://nl.hercules.com/products_index.php?p=muse&s=features

I hope this helps :)

I will keep looking for some drivers...

fhgump
03-11-2002, 04:15 PM
These sites are not much of a help. I downloaded the latest XP drivers from Autralian mirrora and have tried numerous things (like taking out all PCI devices, swaping PCI slots, playing with BIOS). Nothing seems to work. I know it is difficult to give advice without seeing the setup (both software and hardware) but I need help and anyone who can help me will be...will be...a very good person!

Kheldar
03-11-2002, 06:48 PM
need more info.

Does it show up in device manager? (probably with a red cross or yellow thingy)

is it XP pro?

do u have the updates from MS installed


Are you running the latest bios on your motherboard

does your motherboard have onbaord sound and have u disabled it

Kheldar
03-11-2002, 06:57 PM
you should be on bios 6n since the last 2 updatews fixed problems with pci cards

bramtram
03-11-2002, 07:31 PM
Here is more infor about my current setup.
I regulaly (since i got my box and installed XP PRO) do Windows Update. So I guess that's not the problem (unless these updates cause my greif). I'll check what version of BIOS I have and will download the latest from ABIT website.
Now to my Hardware device manager. In Other devices I have "Multimedia Audio Controller" which has a yellow exclamation sign and in properties it says that
"This device is not configured correctly. (Code 1)"
Location: PCI Slot 1 (PCI bus 0, device 16, function 0)

Wiggo
03-11-2002, 08:09 PM
Do ya have it in the 1st PCI slot? :?:
:beer: :beer: :beer:

bramtram
03-11-2002, 09:03 PM
Yes, Right now I have it in PCI1.
I have no other card on my PCI slots.
I had Network card installed in PCI 1 but I removed it and put Soundcard in (this was done on advice of one of my friends).
Here is a screen capture of my device manager<br>
<img src="http://home.iprimus.com.au/ouretski/Hardware.jpg">

Wiggo
03-11-2002, 09:14 PM
Rule 1 is never to use that PCI slot as it in most cases share with the AGP slot so move it into one of the other ones. :smokin:
<center>:cheers:</center>

bramtram
03-11-2002, 09:19 PM
To tell you the truth I have already tried all available slots, although when i did that, my NIC was sitting on PCI1, but it was working fine and wasn't reporting any conflicts with my graphics card. I'll move my soundcard and see if it makes a difference.

Wiggo
03-11-2002, 09:26 PM
Now have you got the latest BIOS flashed to your motherboard? :?:
<center>:cheers:</center>

Beefy
03-12-2002, 06:19 AM
if you have a look at the properties of the Multimedia Audio Device, it should give you some idea of what is wrong, whether it's driver related, or just not working for some reason... what does it say in there?

bramtram
03-12-2002, 11:12 AM
First to the question of updating BIOS in Win XP.
Not sure how to it. ABIT manual doesn't cover XP.
Plus I couldn't figure out how to restart my PC to pure MS-DOS.
I managed to start it in "Safe Mode with Command Prompt".
Is it the same as starting in MS-DOS? Now another question.
I don't have a floppy drive in my system. Instead I use external Iomega ZIP 100 drive. So how do I make a system disk using my ZIP drive.<br>
Back to soundcard.<br>
Here is a screen shot of what my properties of MultimediaController<br><img src="http://home.iprimus.com.au/ouretski/MultimediaController.jpg">

Beefy
03-12-2002, 11:38 AM
OK, first the BIOS part..

What you need to do is make a boot disk. I'm not sure if it is possible to boot to an external zipdrive or not.. If not, then you will need some other form of bootdisk to run the flash program from. If you have access to a CD burner, then you could make a bootable CD with the applicable files on it. If you need help with this, ask away..

As for the Multimedia Audio thingy.. it's very strange that the Reinstall Drivers button is not available to be clicked on (as shown in your screenshot)... If you go to the Driver tab, do you get the same thing?

bramtram
03-12-2002, 12:17 PM
The reason "Reinstall Driver" button is disabled is because I was logged in as my brother, at the time of taking that snapshot and posting it, and my brother's account does not have administrator rights. If I'm logged in as myself I can see all the buttons and everything is enabled.
Tell me how to make a bootable CD. I do have CDR in my PC.

Beefy
03-12-2002, 01:29 PM
Ummm, everytime i've made a bootable CD, i've had a floppy disc in the drive and used that for an image.... hmm... OK, here's another way to do it (it's not the best way, but it's A way...)

Get a blank zip disk. make it a system disk (example: if the drive was drive b:, then type sys b:)

next, download the files from a windows 98 boot disk from the many sites on the net that have it (i think www.bootdisk.com is a good one.. could be wrong.. just search around for it). Copy all the files from that onto the zip disk. Also, put the files that you need to flash the BIOS on the zip disk as well.

Now, with Nero or something similar, you should have the option to make a bootable CD. It will ask you for a source for the bootable part of the image. Just tell it to use your zip drive..

then basically burn the CD, set your PC to boot from CD, then boot up. It should load everything for you, then you follow the instructions with the BIOS flash utility and you should be flying...

Note: This is a suggestion.. I'm not totally sure it would work. Hopefully someone else would be able to verify this...

Kheldar
03-12-2002, 01:55 PM
in xp u can actually make a boot disk - insert a floppy right click on it in my computer and choose format and you should get an option to make it bootable

then copy your bios files to it (usually 2 files the bios and the updater)

and follow the instructions from abit

Beefy
03-12-2002, 02:04 PM
umm, that's half the problem.. he doesn't have a floppy drive... :( and as far as I know, you can't boot from an external Zip drive.. Internal yes, external I don't think so...

Kheldar
03-12-2002, 02:06 PM
bugger I should have read this properly

no floppy drive hmmm - some manaufacturers offer an online way of updating the bios

I know u can boot from and internal zip disk - not sure about an external one thou

go steal a floppy drive from somebody and plug it in - its probably quicker that stuffing around with bootable cd's

bramtram
03-12-2002, 08:29 PM
Thanks for your advices guys.
sys G: doesn't work in XP.
By the way I got a reply from Australian Hercules Tech support. They "not speaka English so good". Here's what they wrote to me:<br><br>
"Dear Customer, <br>
<br>
first of all uninstall all version of drivers of this card you've got on the computer then unplug the card.
<br>
install latest version of bios & chipset's motherboard.
<br>
install the 6.33 drivers without the sound card plug.
<br>
restart then the computer one time and shut down it
<br>
plug the card in another PCI slot and restart the pc
indicate thennduring the installation the location in your hard disk of the soundcard drivers"
<br>
WHATTA? Does it make any sense to anyone. I tried to follow their steps but as soon as I get to "install the 6.33 drivers without the sound card plug" it tells me that it can not install these drivers cause I haven't got a soundcard installed- fair enough. <br>
Well, the company where I work is a Toshiba notebook reseller and we have about 5 professional on-site techs. I really didn't want to take it to work but looks like I have no other choice.
Sorry guys and thanks for trying to help.