Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What should I do?

Hey everyone,
    This is my first time posting here and I need your professional advice. My system is a bit older but, I wanted to upgrade to a 9800pro. I am wondering if you think I am going to bottleneck the video card or will I get all of the performance out of the card with what I have?
    Here is a list of what I have right now.

Abit p4t-E mobo
    Samsung 512 mb pc600 ram
    P4 2.0 Williamette processor (yeah, I know)
    ATI 8500le not o'clocked

I have 300 bones and I wanted to go and get the 9800 pro but, do you think I should just get the 9600 instead and save my money since I am not going to get everything out of the 9800 that I want?
    Thanks,
    Dre'

Sorry mate, but it aint gonna happen. See my specs? I'm in the same ball park as you. Right now, I have a Ti4200, and the rest of my system can barely keep up with it (CPU mainly). A 9800 would be useless in your system, as you wouldnt be able to use half the effects. Also, if that system was built for you with those specs, you probably dont have a power supply (PSU) that can handle a 9800. The minimum requirement is a 300watt PSU, and at that it needs to be a REALLY good 300watt PSU. My comp is a Dell, and I have a 250watt, so no go. Check your specs. Anyways, I'd seriously advise against getting a 9800. Getting a 9600 Pro or XT might be good for you, as you could turn up resolutions, FSAA, and graphics card driven eye-candy. It'll defintely be a bigger improvement. Of course, the best improvement would be to get a newer system. If that's not an option for you, go with a 9600 Pro or XT, they'll be exactly what you need and then some. : peace2: Mista K6

Comment

Thanks for the reply. I know what you are saying. Well, believe it or not, my wife surprised me tonight with a brand new 9800 pro. I will install it and run 3dmark 2001se tomorrow and then I will post the score to let you know how it worked out.