PDA

View Full Version : Is this a good benchmark score???



[MSB]-TOM
01-03-2004, 10:15 PM
hey, after upgrading my computer i finly got around to benchmarking it in 3dmark2001 (im getting 2003 as i type) and im was wondering if this is a good mark from my last mark of 7468
http://service.futuremark.com/servlet/Index?pageid=/orb/projectmanager

SearanoX
01-03-2004, 11:25 PM
You've got the wrong link there...

[MSB]-TOM
01-03-2004, 11:31 PM
ohh thats my mark from like 4 months ago. here i this is the one
http://service.futuremark.com/servlet/Index?pageid=/orb/projectdetails&projectType=6&projectId=7403855

SearanoX
01-03-2004, 11:35 PM
When you use that link, it goes to the current user's account, not yours.

Just post your score here. No need for the link (working or not).

There's also a serperate thread for this - just check above.

[MSB]-TOM
01-03-2004, 11:43 PM
srry about that, but heres my mark 15069 3D marks

Is this a good mark for my setup?

SearanoX
01-03-2004, 11:49 PM
Doesn't sound too bad to me...you could always try overclocking your RAM to PC3200 or optimizing (http://www.tweaktown.com/document.php?dType=review&dId=324) Windows XP if you haven't done so already. You should see an increase after those.

AsianBatman
01-04-2004, 04:08 AM
Doesn't sound too bad to me...you could always try overclocking your RAM to PC3200 or optimizing (http://www.tweaktown.com/document.php?dType=review&dId=324) Windows XP if you haven't done so already. You should see an increase after those.

Overclocking his ram? What are you talking about, i see in his sig that he oc'ed his cpu from 2.6 to 3.1...that should already increase his ram. So how do you suggest overclocking his ram...well anyway, Tom, Does your mobo have dual channel? I think so, if so, try to put your ram in dual channel mode, that should give you more bandwidth and help you with the benchmark. Your score is low for 3.1ghz and 5900..

SearanoX
01-04-2004, 04:26 AM
Oh, must've missed that it was overlocked...

Yeah, dual channel will help if you have 2 RAM sticks. Still, the benchmark seems a little low for your system - with or without dual channel.

AsianBatman
01-04-2004, 04:29 AM
That is not alittle low, that is very low for his system specs, he should be in the 17-18000 or higher.
I scored 16800 last night with my specs. :cheers:

Wiggo
01-04-2004, 04:55 AM
Some good fast timed PC3200-3500 should help improve things a bit there as PC2700 is just a bit slow for that sort of setup and turnin' off unnecessary background processes would help as well. :beer:

Soulburner
01-04-2004, 05:45 AM
Show us a compare URL.

As reference, completely stock I did 14.8k with stock clocks and no tweaking.

14,800
2.4c (200x12)
P4P800D
Corsair 3200LL (CH5) (200 2-3-2-5)
FX5900 (400/850)

My current score with max overclocks and tweaks is:

20,113
2.4 @ 3360 (280x12)
P4P800D
Kingson HyperX 3200 (BH5) (224 2-3-2-5)
FX5900 (490/900)

Use driver 44.03, High Performance Mode

Yours @ stock, 2.6, should get about 15.1k. However since you have RAM that can't keep up with your CPU....maybe 14.6k at stock clocks.

[MSB]-TOM
01-04-2004, 02:52 PM
umm that really sad thing is i benchmarked it with no oc'ing i got 12k. And im kina broke I spent lots on new mother board ,cpu and case so i cant get new RAM right now all I have on $100cnd

Is this what you want?

Operating System Microsoft Windows XP
DirectX Version 9.0
Mobo Manufacturer ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
Mobo Model P4C800-E
AGP Rates (Current/Available) 8x / 4x 8x


CPU Intel Pentium 4 3121 MHz
FSB 240 MHz
Memory 768 MB
Graphics Chipset NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900 470/900
Driver Name NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900
Driver Version 6.14.10.5303
Video Memory 128 MB


Program Version 3DMark2001 SE
Resolution 1024x768 32bit
Texture Format Compressed
FSAA Disabled
Z-Buffer Depth 24bit
Frame Buffer Double
Rendering Pipeline D3D Pure Hardware T&L



Detailed Test Results
3DMark Score 15069 3D marks

Game 1 Car Chase - Low Detail 221.9 FPS
Game 1 Car Chase - High Detail 70.3 FPS
Game 2 Dragothic - Low Detail 281.7 FPS
Game 2 Dragothic - High Detail 156.1 FPS
Game 3 Lobby - Low Detail 191.9 FPS
Game 3 Lobby - High Detail 82.8 FPS
Game 4 Nature 96.5 FPS
Fill Rate (Single-Texturing) 1666.0 MTexels/s
Fill Rate (Multi-Texturing) 3271.6 MTexels/s
High Polygon Count (1 light) 99.8 MTriangels/s
High Polygon Count (8 lights) 27.3 MTriangels/s
Environment Bump Mapping 186.9 FPS
DOT3 Bump Mapping 286.1 FPS
Vertex Shader 173.9 FPS
Pixel Shader 181.4 FPS
Advanced Pixel Shader 138.1 FPS
Point Sprite 36.0 MSprites/s

Soulburner
01-04-2004, 02:54 PM
Driver 44.03 for 3DM01, huge difference.

+40fps for me in Nature

800 points from Nature alone, not to mention a couple of the other tests.

And you don't need to run all that eye candy stuff after Nature, just the 4 game tests.

[MSB]-TOM
01-04-2004, 03:01 PM
where can I get the 44.03 driver

Soulburner
01-04-2004, 03:04 PM
www.nvidia.com

490/910?

Those are the exact same clocks as mine......

[MSB]-TOM
01-04-2004, 03:09 PM
ohh I turned those down to 480/900 , i meant to edit my profile

[MSB]-TOM
01-04-2004, 03:35 PM
OK I have 16034 and thats only using the 44.03 drivers. Now how do I get duel channle surpport up ?if I can

Wiggo
01-04-2004, 03:45 PM
If ya have 2 memory modules of the same make, model and size then insert them into A1 and B1 DIMM slots (ya mobo manual explains this). :beer:

[MSB]-TOM
01-04-2004, 03:56 PM
nvm, there both pc 2700 but one is 256mb and the other is 512mb. I found like $30 laying around my house:angel: and i have enuff for another 512mb pc2700 or should I wait to buy 2x 512mb pc3200

Wiggo
01-04-2004, 04:02 PM
Ya should wait and buy 2 x PC3200-3500 of quality fast timed sticks. :beer:

Soulburner
01-05-2004, 06:42 AM
Slots 1 and 3 are Channel 1
Slots 2 and 4 are Channel 2

Set your drivers to High Performance mode