PDA

View Full Version : how do i overclock my xbox



bmm0324
01-31-2004, 05:17 AM
how would i go about overclocking my xbox?

amd_man2005
01-31-2004, 06:08 AM
You don't.

Arsenal11
01-31-2004, 06:59 AM
HAHA this thread just made me seriously laugh. I don't know why, it just seems like an absurd idea to me.

bmm0324
01-31-2004, 07:04 AM
well isnt it a P3 processor?...y cant u overclock it...u can oc a normal p3 processor

rugbydude
01-31-2004, 07:39 AM
Well if u get the bios settings up and we'll take it from there:laugh:

sepherum2ya
02-01-2004, 04:50 AM
Well you could always like manually oc it. By like rewireing.. but Why would you want to overclock a xBox? The latest games that are coming out now.. Won't need any more juice then the ones that came out when the xbox did. So why have extra power? when it'll never be needed. I know you can convert a Xbox into a regular PC though.

bmm0324
02-01-2004, 05:31 AM
well, i wanted to overclock it so i can host more people on a CS server w/ out the lag. I have a T1 internet connection at my school...so i know thats not why it lags...

theyneverknew
02-01-2004, 06:30 AM
umm y are you hosting a cs server on an xbox instead of a normal pc? :confused:

sepherum2ya
02-01-2004, 06:50 AM
wtf?

sepherum2ya
02-01-2004, 07:00 AM
I remeber the old hl1 engine... FLF got kinda boring when they mentioned hl2.. CS.. It'll be gone one day.. So will consoles.. I'm not a console fan.. but yet i own a PS2.. what a worthless investment once again.

Soulburner
02-01-2004, 09:38 AM
The Xbox's motherboard has no switches or overclocking options at all. You can't do it.

And yes it uses a P3-family Celeron at 733mhz.

Wordbiker
02-02-2004, 03:03 PM
The Xbox's motherboard has no switches or overclocking options at all. You can't do it.

And yes it uses a P3-family Celeron at 733mhz.
You can buy one already hopped-up to 1480MHz here (http://xbox.upgrade123.com/).

bumbi
09-21-2004, 07:02 PM
but Why would you want to overclock a xBox? The latest games that are coming out now.. Won't need any more juice then the ones that came out when the xbox did. So why have extra power? when it'll never be needed.
Some games lag nicly for example:
Halo when playing 8-16 Players multiplayer games and using rokets or grenades
Ninja Gaiden when killing bats with Vigorian Flails
Fable when using magic (lots of particel efects)
Unreal Championship when hosting a game (not deticaded)
Counter-Strike when hosting a game (not deticaded)


umm y are you hosting a cs server on an xbox instead of a normal pc? :confused:
The Xbox version of CS!!! I think only Microsoft and Valve has the "Xbox CS server for PC"


You can buy one already hopped-up to 1480MHz here (http://xbox.upgrade123.com/).
Thats a different processor and they use an external clockgenerator


Oh and BTW the only way to get rid of the lag on the CS server is to OC by soldering an external clockgenerator to the Xbox motherboard OR just simply host a deticated game

lxl_hitman_lxl
09-22-2004, 12:38 PM
there is still no need to overclock and xbox, the lag you all experience is really just the crap default set speed for system links and live. That is cause of lag so Xbox has no reason for overclocking, it owuld jsut ruin it after a while.