PDA

View Full Version : Memory Upgrade Question



joedemagio
01-31-2004, 07:09 AM
In my BIOS it lists my memory as being 256mb DDR SDRAM. Is this DDR memory or SDRAM memory or am i being nooby to an extreme or all three?? Then what kind of memory would be best to upgrade to?? I want max performance and max amount of memory. My mobo does support dual-channel mem too. Im mebe looking for 1 gig of memory. Oh and my fsb runs at 533mhz.

tacos4me
01-31-2004, 07:54 AM
That memory would be running at DDR(Double Data Rate). And if you are going to upgrade memory, it would be nice to know what you already had first...;) but I would upgrade to PC-3200 Dual-Channel... but definatly, whatever you get..get Dual-Channel:cheers:

Wiggo
01-31-2004, 08:44 AM
Yep ya memory is DDR but its proper name is "DDR SDRAM". If ya want 1GB of memory then get 2 matched 512MB modules of same make, model (do not use mix memory) and either keep that 256MB module for something else or sell it to someone else. Good fast timed PC3200 would be a good idea if that mobo supports overclocking and you intend to do it or if ya plan to upgrade to an 800MHz FSB CPU later but if not then PC2700 will be fine. :beer:

joedemagio
01-31-2004, 03:11 PM
nice! thanks guys! what do u think that pc3200 ram will cost me for 2 512mb sticks?

Wiggo
01-31-2004, 03:14 PM
nice! thanks guys! what do u think that pc3200 ram will cost me for 2 512mb sticks? That could be better answered if we knew what country ya reside in. :rolleyes2

joedemagio
01-31-2004, 03:15 PM
sry for that mistake, i live in the US, New Mexico to be exact.

Wiggo
01-31-2004, 03:25 PM
Well I just added that to ya profile but I'll let someone from your side of the world answer that last question for ya. :beer:

joedemagio
01-31-2004, 03:25 PM
thx wiggo u r the best.

joedemagio
01-31-2004, 03:58 PM
I found this and it looks to die for:


Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series, Low Latency 184 Pin 1GB(512MBx2) ECC Registered DDR PC-3200LL - Retail

Specification
Manufacturer: Corsair
Speed: DDR400(PC3200)
Type: 184 Pin DDR SDRAM
Error Checking: ECC
Registered/Unbuffered: Registered
Cas Latency: 2-3-2-6
Support Voltage: 2.6V
Bandwidth: 3.2GB/s
Organization: two 64M x 64 -Bit
Special Features: Low Latency
Warranty: Lifetime

Model#: TwinX1024RE-3200LL
Item#: N82E16820145469

$280

Wow, id love to have this in my computer! Id blast thru any program at lightning speed!

Wiggo
01-31-2004, 04:14 PM
Actually ya really don't want ECC memory and ya mobo may not be compatible with ECC memory but the TwinX1024-3200LL model has exactly the same timings plus ya won't loose a cycle for the ECC process involved and ya'll save a few $'s as well.
BTW what is the exact motherboard ya have? :beer:

joedemagio
02-02-2004, 12:13 AM
I have an Intel 845pe mobo. Oops, guess i missed that it had ECC, I thought it said no ecc :knife:

Wiggo
02-02-2004, 04:44 AM
My mobo does support dual-channel mem too.



I have an Intel 845pe mobo. I hate to tell ya this but the Intel 845PE chipset does not support dual channel memory. :beer:

joedemagio
02-03-2004, 12:29 AM
strange, it said it did, maybe i read something wrong, rrrrrrrrrr

Wiggo
02-03-2004, 06:13 AM
Only Intel's E7205, E7500, E7501, E7505, 865 and 875 chipsets support dual channel DDR memory controllers and the first 4 are basically workstation/server chipsets. :beer:

joedemagio
02-11-2004, 01:05 AM
so can i stil get by with non dual cahnnel memory or am i stuck with bad permfomance?

Wiggo
02-11-2004, 08:33 AM
Well if that mobo ya have is made by Intel then overclockin' is out of the question really and just gettin' 1GB of memory in 2 sticks of CAS2 PC2100 should be enough but if that mobo is just based on the i845 chipset plus made by someone else and can overclock then faster rated memory will help. Yes ya can get away with non dual channel memory plus with 1GB of memory Windows and other programs will load faster but ya'll not get dual channel mobo performance. :beer: