PDA

View Full Version : Mobo upgrade for Dell Dimension 2400



jag2k4
02-01-2004, 03:53 AM
Can anyone tell me a good mobo that will fit inside my Dell Dimension 2400 pc. It must and I mean MUST have an AGP slot. Please I'm starting to get desperate here. You wouldn't believe it but my mobo has the small metal parts were the AGP slot is meant to be and there is no slot. It is as if they took the AGP slot out.

:tears:

Wiggo
02-01-2004, 04:07 AM
Didn't I answer this question b4? :confused:

Well anyhow Gigabyte make a few mATX mobo's that even overclock that'll fix that mirco-tower and here's two of them. :beer:
GA-8IG1000MF (http://www.giga-byte.com/MotherBoard/Products/Products_GA-8IG1000MF.htm) (i865G)
GA-8IPE1000MK (http://www.giga-byte.com/MotherBoard/Products/Products_GA-8IPE1000MK.htm) (i865PE)

jag2k4
02-01-2004, 04:10 AM
Yes you did answer before but someone said that Dell 2400 are too small to have different mobos. Cause dell make there own.

:shrug:

The__tweaker
02-01-2004, 04:47 AM
Hey jag2k4 are ya Swedish by chance..:?:

Wiggo
02-01-2004, 08:16 AM
Yes you did answer before but someone said that Dell 2400 are too small to have different mobos. Cause dell make there own. :shrug: Dell do not make their own mobo's, in fact Intel supply most of their mobo's and for your's model's "micro-tower" it would be an mATX format mobo. Open the case and ya'll likely find that the mobo in it closely resembles those that I linked, in fact its very likely to be this mobo (http://www.intel.com/design/motherbd/sr/index.htm?iid=ipp_desk+boards_d845gvsr&). :beer:

jag2k4
02-01-2004, 07:21 PM
Hey your right it does look a lot like mine. So does that mean I can upgrade to the Gigibite one's?

:thumb:

Wiggo
02-02-2004, 05:05 AM
Hey your right it does look a lot like mine. So does that mean I can upgrade to the Gigibite one's?

:thumb: That's what I've been tryin' to tell ya, you can. :beer:

SmokeyTheBalrog
02-02-2004, 08:15 AM
doh! It was me who said that Dell maid their own mobos.

Terribly sorry, please pardon the stupidity.

-=DEEDz=-
08-20-2004, 08:24 AM
Try this.....

Whip your DELL 2400 Mobo out..... find another Mobo with an 8xAGP Slot perhaps board that has bin Cracked Snapped or Blown.... take em both down to a electronics Guru... Get them to Solder it into your Mobo.... Sell it as ... NEW DELL DIMENSION-DEEDz PLUS 2400 with AGP8x ;).... Tweak the Bios... Might need a Ms-Certified Programmer to Help you out with that bit... but theres plenty of Forums where ppl like this sit and wait for ppl like us to ask them Trcky/innovative Questions .. like "Where is the Power Switch on the Monitor" ;P..... and I think that we could start up a SERVICE SHOP @ $50 +SH a pop .... We, Like DELL could be Rich in no [email protected] there expense... for Once..

On another Note.... Whip out the old Soldering Iron and give it a twack yourself ;)... if you Crack it then thats a Service that Many would Gladly pay for ......or NOT!have-to ;)

-=DEEDz=-
:afrosmili

KoolDrew
08-20-2004, 09:03 AM
Correct me if I am wrong but don't you need a new PSU when replacing a Dell mobo?

Yawgm0th
08-20-2004, 12:55 PM
That's what I've heard. Something about Dell PSUs killling non-Dell motherboards.

marshall00
12-12-2004, 08:02 AM
hi there wiggo please can you tell me how you no this info about the ga-8ipe1000mk motherboard i need one to fit my dimension 2400 but i have been told by gigabyte thay dont no if it will fit or if i will need a new power supply.
Didn't I answer this question b4? :confused:

Well anyhow Gigabyte make a few mATX mobo's that even overclock that'll fix that mirco-tower and here's two of them. :beer:
GA-8IG1000MF (http://www.giga-byte.com/MotherBoard/Products/Products_GA-8IG1000MF.htm) (i865G)
GA-8IPE1000MK (http://www.giga-byte.com/MotherBoard/Products/Products_GA-8IPE1000MK.htm) (i865PE)

jmacthree
01-06-2005, 09:11 AM
I have a Dell Dimension 2400 also and everything I have read on the net says that the Dell PSU is not compatable with any aftermarket systemboard. There are adapter cables that will allow an aftermarket PSU to be used with a Dell proprietary systemboard but not the other way around. I did notice that one the Gigabyte systemboards did have the on board Intel Extreme Graphics and a 8X AGP slot. DEEDz may be right about just soldering an AGP connector on the board as there is a place for one to be installed. If an PCI graphics card can be installed as I have read in other forums the onboard graphics can be disabled through the BIOS so DEEDz might be on to something. Has anyone out there tried this yet? :ponder:

mluo8596
01-26-2005, 10:23 PM
I have a Dell Dimension 2400, the motherboard is becoming not functional 3 months after the expiration of my warranty. I consider to purchase a different motherboard, but from this forum it seems to me that I also need to purchase a PSU? Does anyone have any suggestion on what PSU I should buy?

joedemagio
01-27-2005, 07:04 AM
There are certain Dell models that don't have the special connectors. Look at your mobo and see if any wires are attached besides the ATX mobo connector (rectangular 20 pin I think) and the Pentium 4 connector (square 4 pin). My Dimension 4550 533FSB Edition does not have the special Dell connector for instance.

jaden10
10-11-2006, 11:34 AM
Actually, I own a Dell Dimension 2400, I replaced the PSU with a Antec true blue 400. It's works well, no problems what so ever. I was worried about that until I tried it on a different and older dell that was knocking at deaths door. No problems.