PDA

View Full Version : ASUS Memory Configuration



Neb
02-06-2004, 12:07 AM
I currently have 2x256 on-board. With 3 total slots for memory, can I add a single 512MB chip of same speed, etc. to bring the total to 1,024??

Thx.
Neb

Demon Keeler
02-06-2004, 06:09 AM
I think your m/b is the updated version of mine so I don't see why not! always consult your m/b's manual. I was running 2 x 256 + 512mb of PC2700

minibubba
02-06-2004, 06:10 AM
you can, but you wont be running in dual channel if you do.

Demon Keeler
02-06-2004, 06:15 AM
your manual says up to 3Gb

Neb
02-06-2004, 09:34 AM
The manual doesn't say anything about mix/matching memory though....and I didn't want to make a purchase unnecessarily.

Soulburner
02-06-2004, 10:19 AM
You can run all 3 slots and still retain dual channel, though i'm not sure if that works if they are all of different size.

Demon Keeler
02-10-2004, 05:47 AM
I did read somewhere that dual channel will work with 2 x 256 + 1 x 512 but they all have to be the same brand/speed but then my good mates at www.pcmarket.com.au say it's bull**** so who knows! :cheers: