PDA

View Full Version : Fan Control Software



Sincerity
02-20-2004, 05:50 PM
Hi there

do you know, which software can adjust the speed of the fan per software? i tried several like motherboard monitor 5 or speedfan 4.09 but they didn't work for my Abit NF7. do you know anything?

Wiggo
02-20-2004, 08:12 PM
I've never heard of a software that does that and can't comprehend one doin' so without havin' some form of supportin' hardware to do the actual voltage manipulation. Get a rheobus to do that. :beer:

Sincerity
02-20-2004, 09:25 PM
oh wow, it works with speedfan! :woot: :woot: :woot:
just had to configure it right, so it works now :D
but it only supports 2 fans :hmph:

Wiggo
02-20-2004, 09:36 PM
So you are powering the fans from the mobo headers then? I never like to do that. :beer:

Sincerity
02-21-2004, 04:29 AM
from the headers? what's so bad about it? tell me ;)
no i'm not using the headers, i'm just doing the regular plugs. not bad for a program, huh? ;)

minibubba
02-21-2004, 04:32 AM
from the headers? what's so bad about it? tell me it puts unesesary stress and strain on the mobo's circuitry

Wiggo
02-21-2004, 07:58 AM
Not only that but some fans have been known to kill mobo's hooked up that way but it can also limit a good overclock plus cause system instabilities. :beer:

Sincerity
02-21-2004, 08:20 AM
... are fancontrols not suitable for mobos then? more like hardware would be better?

Wiggo
02-21-2004, 08:22 AM
Hardware controlling would be much better and safer. :beer:

Sincerity
02-21-2004, 08:24 AM
ok, that's great ^^ so should i deinstall it and let that supermegadamnhotlikeatrainnoisy-fan go on till i get a fancontrol that works? i had one, but it busted up -.-

Wiggo
02-21-2004, 08:30 AM
That would be what I'd do plus power the fans straight from the PSU only leaving the monitoring wires connected to the mobo. :beer:

The__tweaker
02-21-2004, 10:25 AM
Powering fans from the mobo may be even more dangerous if the load differs like it would when speed controls are used. :2cents:

Sincerity
02-21-2004, 07:35 PM
how should i plug it into the PSU if there aren't the right wires to connect to? do you have a site, which shows it, how to do it? before my VGA goes :steam: without a silent fan.

I've got the asus ti 8420 and the fan broke down, dunno why, i opened it and saw that there was a big scratch in the fan. does asus replace it for me or should i buy the zalman passive cooler?
i even contacted asus, but no answer till now :hmph:

Wiggo
02-21-2004, 08:43 PM
You can get 3-4 pin adaptors from most good PC stores and better ones carry them with the monitoring hookup but I make my own with parts from electronics stores. :beer: