PDA

View Full Version : temp question



wuntvor
03-21-2002, 05:37 PM
system specs
Asus a7v266-e mobo
amd tbird 1.4 cpu
onboard sound till I can afford a sound card
GF2 MX 64M vid
13 gig quantum fireball

I've heard that the asus temp probes typically report the temp too high, is this true???

for now I'm just using the software that came with the motherboard to monitor the temp
it says 48C idle and 58C under load

if yall remember my last system with the soyo dragon + and amd 1333 cpu ran at 42 and 52 respectively

same case here with 2 case fans as opposed to none and a volcano6 CU+ cpu fan as opposed to the standard amd cpu fan

with all this extra cooling stuff I would think it would be cooler not hotter. Any comments/suggestions?

Wiggo
03-21-2002, 06:29 PM
Yes in most cases they do report higher. :smokin:
:beer: :beer: :beer:

wuntvor
03-21-2002, 06:57 PM
good, then I'm not going crazy ;)

then 58 probably isn't something to worry about, I bet it's more like 48.

MySTiCuSS
03-22-2002, 01:16 AM
Your temps are good don't worry!

Oldbugger
03-22-2002, 03:51 AM
C ase fan or two would help prevent heat build up in the case.....which gives whatever hsf you've got a better chance to keep the temp down. To see if it would help, try running without the sidecover for a while and see what difference it makes....also you are stretching the limits of the Volcano6 in terms of its specified processors..you are right at the top end of what you can expect out of it....

ne0z
03-22-2002, 04:04 AM
every Asus board I have ever had has been at least 10F off

MovinMelo
03-23-2002, 04:40 PM
I must be really lucky. I have my oc'ed A7V-266E w/ 1600 at a 152mhz fsb (152x10.5 = 1.596ghz), and I have idle temp of 39C and load at 43C. But then again my OCZ Galdiator and 4 case fans are making me go deaf.

wuntvor
03-26-2002, 07:50 PM
C ase fan or two would help prevent heat build up in the case.....which gives whatever hsf you've got a better chance to keep the temp down. To see if it would help, try running without the sidecover for a while and see what difference it makes....also you are stretching the limits of the Volcano6 in terms of its specified processors..you are right at the top end of what you can expect out of it....

hum, it says it can handle up to a 1.6GHz CPU
I don't plan on OC'n it

thanks for all the input everyone