PDA

View Full Version : back to crunching for seti....



The Wizard
03-20-2004, 01:05 AM
should i run 4 apps, 1 for each proc, or 1 app split between the 4? :lol:

minibubba
03-20-2004, 01:11 AM
you should remove it and install [email protected] ;)

The Wizard
03-20-2004, 01:16 AM
i could have swore i saw a distributed computing forum, but with this new layout im still a little lost. :shock:

minibubba
03-20-2004, 01:19 AM
it's under general discussion instead of BG, went ahead and moved it for ya though
:cheers:

gar187er
03-20-2004, 01:53 AM
id say one for each processor, and then have each app do 2-3 WU at a time...youd get major output on that machine....

zeradul
03-20-2004, 04:02 AM
Hey Wiz!

Run [email protected] and cure alzheimers! Really! More info in my sig.

EDIT: Oh and then when you get folding going, install 4 instances of the Command Line Interface into their own folders, and run them, and just set affinity, one instance per processor....

Andy
03-20-2004, 05:46 AM
Hey wiz!

If you do decide to keep running seti, try using the command line (http://sirwarrior.kicks-ass.org/seti/seti.html) version, its faster :)

Also, give us some specs :D

Wiggo
03-20-2004, 08:28 AM
Good to see ya back Wiz but as Andy said changeover to the command line version (Method 2 as shown here (http://www.soni.dk/Distributed/seti_installation.asp)) as it cranks out a w/u in about a 1/5th of the time that the GUI version takes. SETIdriver will allow 1 w/u to be processed by each processor (or 2 w/u's for a hyperthreading CPU). :beer:

zeradul
03-20-2004, 07:12 PM
so the gui version takes 5 times as long? jeez, talk about poor optimization... Every unit computed twice, and now this?

Wiggo
03-20-2004, 07:34 PM
so the gui version takes 5 times as long? jeez, talk about poor optimization... Every unit computed twice, and now this? The GUI version is actually a screensaver so processin' the graphics for it does make it take a big hit. :beer:

elrado1
03-21-2004, 12:03 AM
so the gui version takes 5 times as long? jeez, talk about poor optimization... Every unit computed twice, and now this?Does anyone else think zerad's bucking for a "Forum Smactard" title? :blah:

Regarding the 4 Processors: Yes, run four apps at the same time. You could also devote one or two to a second DC program, like BOINC or [email protected] :shoot2:

zeradul
03-21-2004, 06:51 AM
oh elrado, i'm touched? :oops: :) Does discussing Seti's shortcomings make you uneasy? Why do you think that is?

amd_man2005
03-21-2004, 07:18 AM
so the gui version takes 5 times as long? jeez, talk about poor optimization... Every unit computed twice, and now this?

It's not the optimaztion :roll: It's simply the fact CPU cycles have to be spent to constantly redraw the image showing on the screen. And each unit twice is only in BOINC beta, not normal [email protected]

Wiggo
03-21-2004, 08:09 AM
zeradul if ya don't understand SETI then just plain BUTTOUT! :shoot:

The Wizard
03-23-2004, 08:10 AM
the computer specs are as follows:

Dell Computer (i forget which, but i think its a dimension)

4 2.8GHz Xeon Processors
2 GB DDR Ram
2 80 GB Hdd's
1 100 GB external Firewire drive
2 20" Flatscreen Monitors

i'll take pics of it tomorrow when i take my camera to work. :D

Wiggo
03-23-2004, 08:51 AM
Now if ya run SETI the same way as that link I gave ya and if that system is Hyperthreading enabled then ya'd be able to crunch 8 w/u's at the same time (if no hyperthreadin' support then only 4 w/u's at the same time). :devil:

kane2g
03-23-2004, 09:29 AM
Regardless of which DC u like, this isnt a good way to welcome someone who wants to run DC program.
:2cents:

Wiggo
03-23-2004, 10:13 AM
Regardless of which DC u like, this isnt a good way to welcome someone who wants to run DC program.
:2cents: Did I say something wrong? :confused:

kane2g
03-23-2004, 12:33 PM
not u wiggo.

amd_man2005
03-23-2004, 12:39 PM
Man, you could put out some serious WU ownage with a few of those machines

The Wizard
03-23-2004, 08:26 PM
Regardless of which DC u like, this isnt a good way to welcome someone who wants to run DC program.
:2cents:

check my registered date. ;) been on tweaktown since wiggo had 300 posts. :P

Wiggo
03-23-2004, 08:48 PM
Regardless of which DC u like, this isnt a good way to welcome someone who wants to run DC program.
:2cents:

check my registered date. ;) been on tweaktown since wiggo had 300 posts. :P It was Wiz that got me to join the team though he didn't expect what I brought with me at the time (was that the 1st, 2nd or 3rd time I had 300posts Wiz?). :beer:

The Wizard
03-23-2004, 09:10 PM
Regardless of which DC u like, this isnt a good way to welcome someone who wants to run DC program.
:2cents:

check my registered date. ;) been on tweaktown since wiggo had 300 posts. :P It was Wiz that got me to join the team though he didn't expect what I brought with me at the time (was that the 1st, 2nd or 3rd time I had 300posts Wiz?). :beer:

haha, where is the option for all of the above? :D

The Wizard
03-25-2004, 08:36 PM
wow, i set the comp up last night when i left work for 4 processes, and set processor affinity.....when i started this thread, i had 241 WU's....this morning, the page shows me at 278. :shock: 37 units in 6 days. w00t!! :D

elrado1
04-10-2004, 02:32 PM
Are you going to join us here: http://beefy.nucleardays.com/forums/index.php

and here: http://setiathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/stats/team/team_182746.html?