PDA

View Full Version : looking for ram



KoolDrew
05-22-2004, 05:09 AM
Can anyoen suggest some really good ram. I'm looking for 1 gb for now but later ill get enother of the same.

bigjackusa
05-23-2004, 01:01 PM
Corsiar, Mushkin, Kingston for ocing and tweaking, Crucial for standard use.

Amdking
06-02-2004, 10:33 AM
OCZ Ram is the best you can get. Then Kingston,Corsiar, Mushkin. If you want good cheap ram Kingmax aint too bad as its made by Kingston and has a lifetime warranty on it

bigjackusa
06-02-2004, 10:59 AM
I have read reviews suggesting OCZ ram is inconsistant. Sometimes great stuff, sometimes not.

joshuajames
06-04-2004, 02:13 PM
just for reference, is viking ram any good?

amd_man2005
06-05-2004, 12:12 AM
just for reference, is viking ram any good?

Well, considering I've never even heard of it, I'd place a bet that it's not. Generally good RAM is names commonly seen or heard in the enthusiast groups, and it gets to just be word of mouth what to get and what not to get.
I'd stick with the following brands.

Corsair
Kingmax
Kingston
Geil
OCz
Mushkin
Buffalo Technologies
Crucial
TwinMOS
Samsung (although I dunno if it's been any good lately, they used to make some nice RAM)

joshuajames
06-05-2004, 05:21 AM
ya, i know most of what is good, just didn't know about this one.
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&ie=UTF-8&q=viking+ram

bigjackusa
06-05-2004, 05:37 AM
I have used Viking ram before in office type machines (got good deals w/rebate), and it worked fine. SPD timings are pretty ordinary. I got the impression that it was a sort of "value ram".

joshuajames
06-05-2004, 05:56 AM
ok, thanks.