PDA

View Full Version : Rheostat on a Volcano 7+?



abevick
03-28-2002, 06:45 AM
Has anybody replaced the 3-speed switch on a Volcano 7+ HSF with a rheostat yet? If so, how does it do, and from where did you get the rheostat? The 7+ is rated at 0.55 amps and 6.6 W, which exceeds the specs on the rheostat that CrazyPC offers. Radio Shack doesn't seem to carry a large enough rheostat, either, at least in my area. Thanks for any help...

Darthtanion
03-28-2002, 12:46 PM
Sorry... haven't tried changing out the switch on the 7+ unit. The included three-way switch does a pretty good job at giving you enough room to take care of any computing level. From the casual user to the hardcore performance hound, you will be able to find a setting that meets your needs. I guess that I just never had the need to fine tune my fan speeds to an extent beyond what this cooler can provide.

RDR
03-28-2002, 10:20 PM
try the automotive dept. of your local hardware store
headlight dimmer switches or defroster fan switches work in a lot of cases with heavy duty fans
they're 12v and usually rated at well over 1.5A

& it's much cheaper than ordering an higher wattage rheostat from an electronics store :D

abevick
03-29-2002, 12:14 AM
Thanks to you both for your advice. The 3-speed switch is fine, but it doesn't lend itself to convenient mounting. Hence, the need for a rheostat.

RDR...I notice you have a Radeon 8500, as I have. It would be out of bounds to discuss that card in this "Cooling" forum compartment, but could you email me with any advice on safely OC'ing the 8500? Thanks...

RDR
03-29-2002, 01:41 AM
RDR...I notice you have a Radeon 8500, as I have. It would be out of bounds to discuss that card in this "Cooling" forum compartment, but could you email me with any advice on safely OC'ing the 8500? Thanks... [/QUOTE]

I have an ATi retail model factory clocked at 275/275 - ran fine at 310/310 with stock cooling
But since I can't leave well enough alone...I got some heat sinks from a TT memory cooling kit & cut them up to fit the Radeon ram chips & found a TT chrome orb in a bargin bin somewhere, pulled off the bottom clip, modified one side to clear the AGP slot - and glued everything on with AS epoxy - now I can get about 315/315..may be a little more without artifacts

I use powerstip for Oc'ing, even though it allows asycronous core and mem speeds - I find the Radeon runs best with both set to the same value.

the rule of thumb I follow is increase the clocks until you begin to see artifacts & then reduce your OC by about 25% for long term use....I've had a few cards deteriorate quickly when they run maxed out all the time

Get the latest drivers - especially if you're runing XP - early drivers were crap - the later ones are much, much better

abevick
03-29-2002, 01:58 AM
Thanks for the 8500 OC info. Great minds must think alike--I also had a couple of TT memory heatsinks lying around, begging to be cut up and glued on the 8500 ram chips (saw a bag of 8 identical ram chips the other day on a website for $22 USD, so we made out). Sure beats the article I saw on some website regarding brass fittings cut up and made into 8500 ram sinks--would've taken all day and several knuckles...