PDA

View Full Version : dual channel 2x1GB



louinike
06-30-2004, 09:34 PM
plz can u answer all of my Q's, cheers peeps

hello people
(aint tweaktown just the BEST)
iv just got an easy Q for ya
specs first
P4 3.0GHz NO OC
MSI NEO 648F im not completly sure cos im at work (if its dif i will post agen)
256MB PC3200
FX5200 128MB dont lol .....lol im getting a new 1 if i buy the ram.

ok im wondering if i could dual channel 2x1GB of ram and if i do how it go much faster than my current rig.

after parts bought.
P4 3.0GHz OCing to 3.4
same mobo
2x1GB dual channel
Hightech ATI Radeon 9600XT 128MB AGP x8 Platinum im guna so sum serious OCing on this !

wot wuld u lot rate my rig wen i get the parts? (outa 10)

-----------------------------
also
the 2x1GBS r the same, they are PC3200 i will also OC them to PC3500

metallicat666
07-01-2004, 06:14 AM
2gb or ram is overkill. get 2x512mb (total 1gb, more than enough) and get PC3500 instead of 3200, theres no guarantee the 3200 will run 3500 and the 3500 will give more headroom while overclocking

for a little more you should be able to get a 9800 instead of the 9600XT which will be faster for gameing, you should be able to afford it if you only get 1gb of ram

wayout44
07-01-2004, 06:16 AM
You can use the memory but your mainboard isn't capable of operating dual channel mode (it only has 1 memory controller).

louinike
07-01-2004, 09:56 PM
im at home now my MOBO is
SiS 648FX Chipset Based, 648F Neo Series

so my mobo cant dual channel?

o well i will just get a 1GB and get the 9800 Pro

metallicat666
07-02-2004, 12:47 AM
seeing as your planning on overclocking it might be best to get an 865 or 875 chipset based motherboard. i dont think the sis chipset has a pci bus lock which will limit your overclock

amd_man2005
07-02-2004, 01:06 AM
You would be much better off to get Twin 512mb of PC3500(1gb total), or even just Twin 256mb PC3500 (512mb total), than getting, as metallicat666 suggested, an i865/i875 mobo, namely the Asus P4P800. Than get the best video card you can afford with what you have left, sticking with ATi
http://www.tweaktown.com/forums/images/smilies/beer.gif

louinike
07-02-2004, 01:21 AM
cheers for ur help agen.

i will just OC my stuff just a bit cos i dont really wana buy another mobo
im just guna get a 512MB of ram then add it to my 256MB (total 7--MB) then i will get the 9800 PRO 256MB so this will be my comp

CPU = P4 3.0GHz OC to 3.2GHz
MOBO = MSI 648F Neo
RAM = 7--MB RAM
GrAPHICS CARD = ATI 9800 PRO 256MB

will that be good enuf to play the latest games at high details (doom3, i cant wait)

amd_man2005
07-02-2004, 01:25 AM
That should play all games at high to full detail as long as you aren't using too much AA or AF. Also, for dual channel you need tp have 2 identical sticks of RAM, and I beleive your mobo is DC capable.

louinike
07-02-2004, 01:25 AM
i cant dual channel on my mobo but im just wondering wuld

2X1gb make the comp super super fast? (total of 2GB)

i always hear people talk about dual channeling 2x512 but y not 2x1gb

KoolDrew
07-02-2004, 01:31 AM
1gb is more then enough. I see no reason to go to 2gb.

amd_man2005
07-02-2004, 02:06 AM
No need for the 2nd thread, threads merged. http://www.tweaktown.com/forums/images/smilies/beerchug.gif

amd_man2005
07-02-2004, 03:17 AM
Just for the confirmation, I just looked it up and no DC for sure on this mobo.

louinike
07-02-2004, 04:28 AM
is there any software which wuld help monitor and tell me my case and CPU temp?
i tried mobomonitor5 and my mobo aint on it
MSI(648F Neo)

louinike
07-02-2004, 04:30 AM
k then cheers........
looks like i wont dual channel then
is there alot of difference

metallicat666
07-02-2004, 06:57 AM
theres a fair bit of difference on the p4 systems between single and dual channel

amd_man2005
07-02-2004, 07:06 AM
You'll see a noticeable difference on the P4 platform.

louinike
07-03-2004, 12:05 AM
so ur sayin that there is only a slight bit off differences if i had a normal 1.25GB of ram (512, 512 and 256)(i have only 3 slots) compared to 2x512MB dual channel?

no 1 has rated my rig yet

P4 3.0GHz OC to 3.2 maybe 3.4
MSI 648F Neo
1.25GB RAM
ATI 9800PRO

rate it outa 10 plz people.

wayout44
07-03-2004, 06:25 AM
Well if it had an i865 or i875 based mainboard in it then it'd be worth rating (even if it was your average useless "made by Intel" one) but with the one you have it can never let that CPU get to anywhere near its full potential, sorry.

Yawgm0th
07-03-2004, 05:25 PM
rate it outa 10 plz people.It's not really that simple...

amd_man2005
07-04-2004, 12:12 AM
I'd give at a 7.5 Would be an 8, but it lacks DC and the i865/875 chipset.

jd53887
07-27-2004, 11:55 AM
I'm not sure if I'm right about this or not but, the amount as in MB doesn't reflect on the speed of the computer but more as the amount needed to run programs. Getting 1GB of RAMs is enough because any program you open will not use all 1024mb of RAMs. Even if you do video editing (highest RAM usage I believe for common home application), you wont use more than 700mb. Now, if you want amazing speed, you should look at timing of the RAMs with the the speed (PC2700 is 333mhz, PC3200 is 433mhz) which greatly reflects the speed of the RAMs. Now if you want to go a lot faster than that, you go to the next bottlenecking component which is the HDD. Everyone basicly have 7200rpm. Go get the 10000rpm for crazy speed.

This is how I see the computer work. Please correct me if I'm wrong, especially about the speed of PC3200 RAMs.

EDIT:
Oh crap, I was responding to the last post on the first page. I didn't even see the second page. Oh well.

Morgan_Lander
07-27-2004, 09:47 PM
It's a little older, but Abit's IS7 series boards are great. They have one (I think it's the IS7-V) that runs the single channel i848 chipset, not the i865PE. I have the IS7-E and it's a great board. Asus P4P800 (or the P4C800) are also supposed to be pretty good.