After domain name registration...?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• After domain name registration...?

Ok, I am really new to web development. I have some really good ideas as to what it is I want to do with my web page, and I am ready to buy a .com domain name... My question is... after I buy the domain for one year, or 2 years or 10 years, what happens next? Do they give me space to build with? Are they going to give me the addresses that I would need to access this space (if it exists)?

Thanks a lot
    Scott

no you need to buy web hosting too. A domain is just the .com name. Many times a hosting package is included with a domain name but im not sure if thats the case for u

Comment

Edit: KoolDrew is indeed correct. But for a more in-depth explanation:
      That all depends on where you get it...

If you simply go through an online registrar and purchase a domain name ($20 or so, if I remember), all you get is a domain name and a method of inputting what IP address it points to. Most services, however, will allow for some kind of hosting option. It will cost more money and that amount will depend on how much space and bandwidth you want. If you go with a hosting option, they will have some FTP or HTTP method for you to transfer your files to the web server.