PDA

View Full Version : ATI 9800 Pro with SiS746...not working..



Oresama
07-19-2004, 05:51 AM
The motherboard is an SiS746, which claims to be set to run with its AGP set at 1.5v which is 4x. The ATI 9800 Pro claims to be able to run at either 8x/4x. So, it should work all fine and dandy, but, it doesnt.

Is there anyone out there who can help me PLEASE? I dont wanna have to run to the store AGAIN and return it, I'd rather have it working and running. Thanks

Morgan_Lander
07-19-2004, 07:08 AM
What do you mean by "It doesn't"? And what are your specs for the system? What drivers are you using?

Oresama
07-19-2004, 08:11 AM
I said, "it should work all fine and dandy, but, it doesnt". 'It doesn't' Meaning...it doesnt work at all. Dunno how thats confusing.

Anyways, my system specs are AMD Athlon XP 2200+ (runs at 1.8ghz), 768mb DDR PC2700 333mhz RAM, Windows XP Home Edition. The motherboard is ECS L7S7A2, or so the book claims. I checked some pics on the site, and it does look like the L7S7A2, so lets assume its that, even though the box it came in says EliteGroups K7 Series. So I have no idea what the hell it is. Either way, all of the SiS K7 and L7's claim to run (on their website at least) with AGP 8x. The book I have though says its 1.5v AGP, which is standard 4x speed. So, someone is lying here.

Darthtanion
07-19-2004, 08:59 AM
I said, "it should work all fine and dandy, but, it doesnt". 'It doesn't' Meaning...it doesnt work at all. Dunno how thats confusing.
Easy cougar. He was simply asking a question to see what your problem might be so there is no reason to get an attitude. We try to run a friendly forum service for those in need of help so please try to maintain this ideal.

Now that we have the ground rules set up, lets see if we can address your problem. First off K7 is simply the term used for the Socket 462 architecture, so it is likely the K7 series motherboard simply denotes it is meant for the Athlon XP processor. There should be a small sticker on one of the PCI slots telling you the model of the motherboard, or sometimes it will be screened onto the PCB itself (usually by the memory slots) so double check to see if you actually have that model board. That should be able to confirm what board you have since you seem to have doubts. Otherwise, you might try running a utility like SiSoft Sandra or CPU-Z when the system gets to a running state again to get even more info on the equipment.

Now, is this a fresh install of Windows or did you just change video boards? I ask because changing over from nVidia to ATi has been known to cause problems in the past. While this can usually cause problems, it will normally at least POST and load Windows. If it isn't doing anything at all, you might double check all peripherals and components to make sure you didn't accidentally knock something loose during the video board installation. Memory not being fully seated and the CPU itself being loose are both common causes for nothing happening. Also, did you hook up the supplemental Molex power connection to the R9800 board? If so you might see if you have a dead connector. The R9800 is a true power hog and requires this extra juice to run. You'll also want to make sure your PSU has enough power to run your system. For your rig (especially with the new R9800 Pro), you'll want at least a QUALITY 350 watt PSU or higher. I generally recommend at least 400 watt units in any modern rig. Let us know the answers to some of the concepts I pointed out and we can go from there. I doubt the problem will be the AGP bus, but it could happen I guess. Lets start with the basics and build.

Oresama
07-19-2004, 09:30 PM
Yes, its an ECS L7S7A2 SiS746 motherboard. My PowerSupply is 400watts. I tested the card out on my brothers computer, which is a VIA comp, and the R9800 Pro worked fine. He had a R9500 Pro in his comp, so I tried it out in mine, and the R9500 Pro didn't work either. So, as far as I can tell, it seems like a compatibility problem.

wayout44
07-19-2004, 10:49 PM
Using your old video card (don't install drivers for it) be sure that you have the latest SiS chipset drivers installed plus make sure that AGP fast writes are turned off in the BIOS and the AGP aperture is set to 128MB then reinstall the R9800P to see if it works then.

amd_man2005
07-20-2004, 12:32 AM
Whats the brand on that power supply?

Darthtanion
07-20-2004, 12:58 AM
OK... A quick check of the ECS site shows no BIOS revisions besides the original so that won't be an answer, but page 7 of your users manual states that the AGP port will work ONLY WITH 1.5v AGP CARDS, so this might be where your problem lies. Check out your R9800 Pro board and see if it complies with both the AGP 4x and AGP 8x standards. If it is only 8x, then it won't be compatible with your motherboard.

amd_man2005
07-20-2004, 01:59 AM
Isn't 8X 1.5v too?

Darthtanion
07-20-2004, 05:31 AM
AGP 4x = 1.5v
AGP 8x = 0.8v but many will still run at 1.5v (not all though)

Oresama
07-20-2004, 09:24 AM
R9800 Pro says it runs at 8x/4x...meaning it will run at both. My bro's comp is a VIA, which runs only at 4x, and the R9800 Pro works in HIS comp. So, I think it really is just some stupid compatibility issue because of SiS cheap manufacturing.

Darthtanion
07-20-2004, 09:36 AM
This isn't a normal compatibility issue as it hasn't been noted that I'm aware of. Is the mainboard still covered by a warranty where you could RMA it?

Oresama
07-21-2004, 05:05 AM
I believe it might be a compatibility issue because with an older model of a motherboard from SiS, the Radeon9700Pro wouldn't work at all, no matter what. Neither groups (SiS, or ATi) took responsibility for the issue, just saying it was compatibility issues.

As for the warranty, its already done which is annoying. What was the idea about trying to change things in the BIOS? THat sounded like it might work, but I'm not 100% sure how to mess with BIOS. As for the chipset drivers, I do have the latest for my AGP slot.

As for the power supply, Ive even tried taking out the power from my CD drives, so its only sending power to the vid card and my hard drive (only 1 hard drive, 40gb). So, either way, it cant be a power issue.

Darthtanion
07-21-2004, 05:26 AM
If it is truly a compatibility issue, then playing in the BIOS won't be of much use. That only makes small changes that can enhance performance, not change how your chipset communicates with the peripherals. Have you tried sending off an email to the support folks at ECS to see what they say? Make sure to note that you have tried the vid board in a VIA based motherboard and it works fine so they'll not shoot a standard reply of "it must be a faulty vid board".

amd_man2005
07-21-2004, 05:46 AM
AGP 4x = 1.5v
AGP 8x = 0.8v but many will still run at 1.5v (not all though) Ah, wow, thanks for clearing that one up for me. http://www.tweaktown.com/forums/images/smilies/beerchug.gif

Oresama
07-21-2004, 08:29 AM
Yah, I emailed ECS, but they really have a bad reputation for customer service, so they havent replied yet, its been like 3 days.

Oresama
07-21-2004, 09:09 AM
I just returned the card, so dont worry about it anymore. Thanks for the help

Darthtanion
07-21-2004, 10:30 AM
That's a shame. The R9800 Pro is a very good card still. Any chance you can update the mobo?

Oresama
07-21-2004, 11:17 AM
I will eventually, yes. Get something real nice.

By the way, I had installed the 9800 Pro in my bros comp, and when I went to reinstall the 9500 Pro into his comp, I realized I didnt have the 9500 Pro CD. So, how can I go about installing it? Do I just simply need to put hte card in and then install the latest drivers from ATi?

Darthtanion
07-21-2004, 11:50 AM
They use the same drivers. Depending on the OS, it should just recognize the cahnge in vid board. If not, then uninstall all old instances of the drivers and use the newest available from ATI. And unless there are some great utilities or games on the R9500 disk, you can just toss it or use it as a coaster.

eggs420
07-23-2004, 02:14 PM
There ARE newer bioses.. http://www.ecs.com.tw/download/l7s7a2.htm . I have the same card and board and it works fine. Flash up, restore bios defaults, fast writes off, then try it. It is a crappy board, but it works..If it still won't boot, RMA the card or at least try it in another system..

Mine:
BIOS Properties
BIOS Type AMI
System BIOS Date 03/13/03
Video BIOS Date 03/03/24

BIOS Manufacturer
Company Name American Megatrends Inc.
Product Information http://www.ami.com/amibios

Motherboard Properties
Motherboard ID xxxxxxxx-SiS746$L7S7A2L7S7A2

Motherboard Manufacturer
Company Name Elitegroup Computer Systems Inc.
Product Information http://www.ecsusa.com/products
BIOS Download http://www.ecsusa.com/downloads/bios.html