PDA

View Full Version : refresh rate fix...



jackdp
08-29-2004, 02:44 PM
I was adjusting my refresh rate and apparently found a setting the monitor doesn't like. When I boot up the BIOS posts, WinXP loading logo appears and then I get a msg from my monitor that says Operating outside of scan range. I was setting the refresh rate up to see how viewing would improve when this happend...how can I set it back down? Might be a stupid newbie question...but then I'm a stupid newbie :)

Darthtanion
08-29-2004, 09:13 PM
Will the system allow you to enter the Advanced portion of your Display Properties? That is where the change was probably made in the first place.

jackdp
08-30-2004, 06:18 AM
Nah...my monitor was blank and I couldn't see anything...I had to restart..F8 and then restore last good settings to get video back...no more tinkering with the refresh rate for me

Darthtanion
08-30-2004, 10:16 AM
LOL... live and learn friend.

Theberkin8or
08-30-2004, 10:38 PM
i don't know that it is possible, but you might try running it in safe mode and seeing if you could fix it in there, also you could find someone with a monitor that would support that refresh rate

are you not using XP cuz it has a fail safe against this kind of thing