PDA

View Full Version : L2 Cache



sukebeboki
04-02-2002, 12:24 PM
Hey guys,
Just bought a MSI 645 Ultra adn PIV 1.8GHz, but one of my utlilties says that my L2 Cache isn't configured and isn't enabled. When playing music and doing work, the sound stutters and pauses. Any ideas?
Thanks

Mr. C
04-02-2002, 06:57 PM
Check your BIOS to see that the L2 cache is enabled.
Your Mobo manual should have the specifics on those settings.

sukebeboki
04-02-2002, 10:01 PM
OK,
I went throught the mobo manual and looked through the bios, and I didn't see anything refering to either L1 or L2 Cache, except for two headings called Internal Cache adn System Bios Cache. INtenral CAche was set to writeback, adn System Bios CAche was set to disabled. Should i change this to enable??
Thanks for your help.
Sukebeboki

Mr. C
04-03-2002, 11:33 AM
no, that will only serve to allow the system BIOS to cache.
Do you have anything on the order of CPU Internal Cache setting?

If your manual is not specifc or lacking on explaining the settings try;
http://www.itcp.net/~awsh/Speed_Demonz/BIOS_Guide/BIOS_Guide_Index.htm
This is a good site for BIOS settings. You may be able to get more specific to your motherboard at the manufacturers site. Or the BIOS vendor site.