PDA

View Full Version : !HELP! What ram to choose?????



sojux42o
12-25-2004, 07:36 AM
I built my computer about 3 months back. I use it mostly for gaming, usually CS:Source or Doom3. I need some advice on what ram to buy because I bought the wrong ram. My system specs are:

ASUS k9v-se deluxe mb
AMD 64 3400+ 1mb L2 cache
Corsair 1GB pc3200 registered ddr ram (1 dimm)
PNY 6800 ultra oc
Western Digital 74gb 10,000 rpm SATA hdd
Creative Audigy2 Platinum

I am looking for something faster like pc-3700 or something. I prefer 512 x2 dual channel. Yeah, so any recommedations?

KoolDrew
12-25-2004, 07:55 AM
There is no reason to get PC-3700. Even when overclocking the extra bandwidth is not needed. For overclocking I would probally get the cheapest RAM you can find with TCCD chips running on a Brainpower PCB. This stuff looks really good:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-220-033&depa=0

Another option would be micron 5b-g. In that case I would go with this:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-146-546&depa=0

If you are overclocking either of those are good but I would choose the Crucial RAM myself. If you are not overclocking there is no reason to get expensive RAM. Something like this would be good in the case of no overclocking:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-145-440&depa=0

sojux42o
12-25-2004, 08:59 AM
I am not planning on overclocking. thanx.. any other reccomendations?

wayout44
12-25-2004, 09:50 AM
I built my computer about 3 months back. I use it mostly for gaming, usually CS:Source or Doom3. I need some advice on what ram to buy because I bought the wrong ram. My system specs are:

ASUS k9v-se deluxe mb
AMD 64 3400+ 1mb L2 cache
Corsair 1GB pc3200 registered ddr ram (1 dimm)
PNY 6800 ultra oc
Western Digital 74gb 10,000 rpm SATA hdd
Creative Audigy2 Platinum

I am looking for something faster like pc-3700 or something. I prefer 512 x2 dual channel. Yeah, so any recommedations? I take it that you meant the ASUS K8V SE Deluxe (http://usa.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=K8V%20SE%20Deluxe&langs=09), get a good quality CAS2.5 PC3200 stick if you just want a single 1GB stick though with timmings of 2.5-4-4 I'd be cringing so I'd suggest that you just get 2 x 512MB PC3200 sticks of good CAS2 PC3200 (2-2-2 or 2-3-2) as these would give much better memory performance.

sojux42o
12-27-2004, 02:51 AM
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-145-522&depa=0

or

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-146-956&depa=0

sojux42o
12-27-2004, 08:07 AM
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-145-522&depa=0

is that stuff dual channel??

nihilistic0
12-28-2004, 08:43 PM
sure does look like it

KoolDrew
12-28-2004, 09:14 PM
Yes you can run them in dual channel. If you are not overclocking there is no need for expensive RAM. Get yourself some Corsair Value Select. That low latency RAM will give you an extra 3FPS max in games which definitely is not worth what it costs.

The only reason to go with expensive RAM like that is if you are a overclocker or if you do alot of benchmarking for bragging rights.