PDA

View Full Version : Flash 9800 Pro Bios to 9800 XT?



BigSexy396
01-16-2005, 01:15 PM
I've read some people flash their 9800 Pro Bios to a 9800 XT? I have a vague idea what that means, but then again im new to this stuff.
(Note: I havn't bought the card yet.)

1) What exactly does Flashing a Bios do?

2) How would I go about flashing a bios? is there any good guides?

3) in www.newegg.com (http://www.newegg.com) this card is listed as a pro is it? http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=14-102-368&depa=1

sr4470
01-16-2005, 07:07 PM
Sapphire makes 128bit 9800 Pros, avoid them. Flashing the BIOS will not only set clockspeeds to XT levels by default, the card will also be recognised by windows, software, etc as a 9800XT

BigSexy396
01-17-2005, 11:16 AM
ic, ill definatly flash it. so i need to get a 256 bit 9800 pro

Yawgm0th
01-18-2005, 07:27 PM
Flashing it makes it use te clock and memory speeds of the 9800XT, on top of a few core optimizations. However, not every card can flash. You'll need to make sure it's actually got an R360 core, which means you have to look at the core itself.

KoolDrew
01-19-2005, 02:43 AM
http://www.rojakpot.com/default.aspx?location=3&var1=92&var2=0

jd53887
01-24-2005, 12:16 PM
If you gunna go out and pay $200 for a 9800 pro, forget it and hit eBay. You can sometimes find 9800XT for $200 there. If you're willing to spend like $270, go to newegg and get the 6800

AsianBatman
01-24-2005, 02:07 PM
YEa...9800XT for 200 on ebay, But keep in mind, there are people out there who knows about "flashing" 9800 pro to xts..and they sell it as XTs but really its a pro that well over heat and probably burn out. There is a slight chance of pro to xt to work..so i wouldn't bother..unless you have a r360 Core.

joedemagio
01-26-2005, 08:37 PM
I would never buy electronics on Ebay, there's way too much funny business.

morloc82
11-17-2005, 01:03 AM
Sapphire makes 128bit 9800 Pros, avoid them.
I have a saphire 9800 pro atlantis with 128 mb. The card overheats a lot, sometimes even while idle. How do I know for sure if it is 128 or 256 bit?

matm347
12-21-2005, 01:11 AM
Aren't the memory timings looser in the XT? If so, it would be better to overclock the pro to XT settings or higher. The looser timings would hurt performance.

iviuz
01-05-2006, 10:49 AM
I have a saphire 9800 pro atlantis with 128 mb. The card overheats a lot, sometimes even while idle. How do I know for sure if it is 128 or 256 bit?Look at the box it came in, otherwise download rivatuner, its probly a 128bit i could be wrong.

Yawgm0th
01-05-2006, 11:19 AM
It's probably not 128-bit. Sapphire only made a few 128-bit 9800 Pros, but a whole slew of 9800 Pros using 9800XT hardware.