Newbe needs Help with Ram Configuration and Setup

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbe needs Help with Ram Configuration and Setup

I am buildiing my first computer and need some help with explanations of the ram I purchased.

Here is the core of the system:

1: 3.2J Ghz 540 LGA775 (800 FSB)

2: Asus P5AD2-E Premium i925XE Chipset for LGA775 Socket

3: Kingston HyperX 240-Pin 1GB(512MB x 2) DDR2 PC2-5400

The memory was purchased due to a recommendation

I am totally new at this and have no understanding about memory or how to tweak it or get it setup or anything like that. Other than actually inserting onto the motherboard.

The system is currently sitting unassembled in it's component boxes. So I am not to the point yet of testing or powering up the system. The PSU is still in it's box wrapped in plastic. LOL

Ok, the memory I purchased is 675mhz pc5400 ram. The motherboard documentation says it only supports 533mhz ram. The ECC and Buffer for the ram is correct for the motherboard, NON-ECC and NON-Buffered.

Being completely new to this is there going to be a problem with the system not being able to use the ram I purchased? Is there some sort of setting in the bios that needs to be tweaked for this ram so that it WILL work with the system or am I screwed?

The cas, which I don't understand what that means is 4-4-4-10 with voltage of 1.8V for the memory.

If you have NOT come to the determination I am not an OCer and have no plans or desire to up the CPU from 3.2 to 200Ghz or whatever can be done with it. I just want the ram I purchased and the motehrboard and the CPU to run ideally at stock out of the box so I can do what I need to do using the computer for what I use it for.

Will tweaking settings for the ram alter anything for the CPU, Pci-Express or other components that would cause them to gout of warranty?