PDA

View Full Version : Radeon SLI compliant



Bobby74213
02-13-2005, 12:44 AM
I've noticed there aren't any video cards by radeon that take advantage of the new Scalable Link Interface, which allows you to use two video cards. Is Radeon going to come out with a card that has this ability?

wayout44
02-13-2005, 02:15 AM
Now what was your rumour or speculation again?

Mr.Tweak
02-27-2005, 03:39 PM
I've noticed there aren't any video cards by radeon that take advantage of the new Scalable Link Interface, which allows you to use two video cards. Is Radeon going to come out with a card that has this ability?

Expect an SLI-like solution from ATI in the next few months

toliveistodie948
02-27-2005, 08:44 PM
i just recieved an email from a guy i know who owns a comp store that caters to the gamer and i asked him about Radeon cards and SLI and he told me that they are supposed to support it but SLI is a Nvidia technology and they run into nothing but troubles so they use only nvidia cards for their SLI rigs. their website is www.rpccomputersonline.com (http://www.rpccomputersonline.com) they are a very small store and only have a handfull of employees but are very knowledgeable and wont try to sell you something you don't want. they would rather see a satisfied customer then make a couple extra $$ profit. that is the only place that i go for service unless i attempt it myself.

Mr.Tweak
02-27-2005, 08:46 PM
They are wrong.

Radeon cards do not support SLI at the moment, if they did they would have the SLI connection on the cards

ATI's version of SLI will be called AMR (ATI Multi Render) anyway

toliveistodie948
02-28-2005, 08:43 PM
sorry about that. that was a misunderstanding on my part then.

toliveistodie948
02-28-2005, 08:47 PM
one rumor that i heard was that radeon is working on an SLI type setup. the main difference that i heard what that with Nvidias SLI each card renders opposite horizontal lines of pixels however with ATI's version each card will render every other frame. i think thats a good approach but waiting to see bench marks before im sold. but i do think that would be a little simpler way for the vid cards to work. cause then in my opinion i think the cards could get away with a slower core clock and get the same frame rates as Nvidia cause the card gets a little longer to process the info before it actually has to throw it at the monitor but like i said its only a rumor and i don't remember where i heard it.

Bobby74213
03-01-2005, 01:54 AM
I've been looking up a lot of information on this subject and have found a lot, but they all say the same thing. Here's a good example: http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=20457 . I guess it's supposed to be released sometime in ATI's second quarter, which I think starts in April. Not sure about that, though.

Either way I'm going to wait until it comes out before I buy a graphic(s) card and motherboard. I've always liked ATI better than Nvidia.

omerk76
06-17-2005, 05:01 AM
The SLI is originaly a GIGABYTE patent, and not nvidia's.
I've emailed GIGABYTE about this matter as I want to use the SLI only with a RADEON V.card, and they replied that they're working on this and it'll be available in a few months.

Yawgm0th
06-17-2005, 12:31 PM
The SLI is originaly a GIGABYTE patent, and not nvidia's.
I've emailed GIGABYTE about this matter as I want to use the SLI only with a RADEON V.card, and they replied that they're working on this and it'll be available in a few months.
SLI was a 3DFX patent, and now nVidia owns 3DFX. Gigabyte has little to do with it; it just manufactures cards using the pre-built VPUs from ATI and nVidia. In any case, there is no and most likely never will be SLI for any ATI card, because nVidia owns the patent. AMR is a similar solution (quite possibly a much better one, too), but it is not SLI.

alittledevil
06-17-2005, 08:31 PM
eh? amr ain't the thing call crossfire or what ever name it is, that only works x800 and x850xt series. and at the end of the card they can connect it to a non support same series card. but this method only works for the ati chipset motherboards. or u guys talking about something else... a ati working with sli on nf mothboard?

Spriggan X
06-17-2005, 11:59 PM
ATI needs there own chipset to run something similar to SLI. So they named it crossfire so they can be in competition against nvidia's sli. Supposedly much better then the sli i hear.

Yawgm0th
06-18-2005, 01:07 AM
Actually Crossfire doesn't need a special ATI chipset or anything. ATI is working on possibly having it work on several, including Intel chipsets. In addition, it will only work with X800 and X850 cards (and probably some newer ones as well, but unlike SLI the cards needn't be identical. You can run any two X800 cards or any two X850 cards.

Spriggan X
06-18-2005, 01:40 AM
Best part of the crossfire is that it lets you enable 16xaa