• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Corsair XMS vs. OCZ Plat rev 2

OCZ El Platinum Rev. 2 (Dual Channel) PC 3200

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...146-890&depa=0

Corsair XMS PC3200

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-486&depa=0

It seems a lot of people prefer the OCZ memory, but I've never used it before. I currently have the Corsair mem linked above, but I need to get two more sticks of RAM and I'm debating whether to get two more of the corsairs or to try the ocz. I would think having 4 gigs of corsair ram would be really good, but I'm not too sure if the dual channel and if the lower latency features are a good trade off for the extra MBs in RAM. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Corsair XMS vs. OCZ Plat rev 2

More than 1GB is a waste, and more than 2GB is rediculous. If you're talking about adding more RAM to an existing system, don't waste your money. It should be slower.

But for the record, the OCZ is better. The Corsair module is 1GB, too. Never get 1GB modules. They have terrible timings and you'll probably lose performance (not to mention money) in comparison with two 512MB modules of lower latency.

Comment

Thanks for the input. I'll probably just sell my corsair ram with the rest of my old system then. I plan to get a Gigabyte sli mobo with 4 DIMM slots. Are you telling me that if I got 4 OCZ El Platinum Rev 2 sticks it wouldn't do any better than 2? Money isn't too much of a proble. I just want really good performance.

Comment

It would actually be worse because it would overclock slightly worse and have to be run at 2T command rate (suffice to say, that reduces performance). More importantly, it really wouldn't increase performance because your system is probably never going to use more than one GB of RAM.

That said, I'm not necessarily recommending that RAM. What is the system you're trying to use this on, and is it going to be overclocked?