PDA

View Full Version : Is this 3DMark score okay for 6600 GT?



ozwalker
05-09-2005, 02:45 PM
Just got a new PC. Wondering if a 3dMark 05 score of 3270 is good?

Specs
AMD 64 3500+ @ standard speed (2.2 Ghz)
Asus A8V Deluxe Motherboard (Socket 939)
2 GB DDR400 Dual Channel (2 x 1 GB Hynix chips)
128 MB Leadtek 6600 GT AGP video
200 GB WD SATA hard drive (connected to the VIA "SATA RAID" controller, not the onboard Promise RAID Controller. I know I only have one HD and I'm not trying to set up RAID. The only place that accepts a SATA hard drive is called a RAID controller)

Thanks for your help.

ANZAC_ELITE
05-09-2005, 03:24 PM
ummmmmmm, what's the 3DMark score ???

Did you insert the ram yourself? Slot1 & 3 usually, (to achieve dual channel, you must use the two slots the same color)

ozwalker
05-09-2005, 03:35 PM
Sorry mate, posted the wrong intro - score was 3277.

ANZAC_ELITE
05-09-2005, 03:54 PM
have a read of this, http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=133610&highlight=6600gt

Your score seems on par, what driver are you using? Try the 76.50, it gave me a 300 point boost in 3DMark05.

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?id=10

Cheers

ozwalker
05-09-2005, 08:14 PM
Thanks for that link. Glad to see my PC is operating pretty much on spec 'out of the box'.

I tried the 76.50 drivers and got a small boost to 3350 :)

ANZAC_ELITE
05-10-2005, 04:14 AM
Next up is to oc it a little :smilies13

wippet18
05-26-2005, 06:42 PM
Nah bud it should be higher than that. I've got the same PCI-Express version from Leadtek and I get 3893 in 3DMark05, though I've clocked it to 555clock and 1.12memory, however I only have a AMD64 3000 compared to your 3500 and 2x128dual channel ram, which is like 1.5gig less ram than you! I woulda thought with that much more ram yours would go heaps harder? Or the PCI cards aren't that much faster are they?

05-27-2005, 12:20 PM
Perhaps the tests are only peak at a certain amount of memory and speeds. I have an ATI 9600 Mobility and stock speeds and settings everything runs in the high 2000's on 3DMark 03. That's a 64 meg card ;) clock is 320 and mem is 200. 1 gig ddr3200 dual channel, amd 64 3400. I'm not really sure what is making the higher score but it seems like you can achieve the same scores and not have to buy top of the line stuff. I know most games don't use half the cpu power and your vga won't use the 64 bit architecture so i'm not sure why everyone is so eager to get them. By the time 64 bit hardware/software hits the market, those prices will be way down.

-also remembered that mine was 3dmark 03...doesn't matter. You don't need a high benchmark to be good at games. Starcraft will run on anything you put it in :)

Yawgm0th
05-28-2005, 08:06 AM
Nah bud it should be higher than that. I've got the same PCI-Express version from Leadtek and I get 3893 in 3DMark05, though I've clocked it to 555clock and 1.12memory, however I only have a AMD64 3000 compared to your 3500 and 2x128dual channel ram, which is like 1.5gig less ram than you! I woulda thought with that much more ram yours would go heaps harder? Or the PCI cards aren't that much faster are they?
An overclocked video card will beat a marginally faster CPU in 3DMark05 (and most actual games) easily. If I had a 6800 non-GT/U I could probably beat those systems with my Athlon XP in any 3DMark because they're very GPU-limited benchmarks.

As for RAM, more doesn't always mean better in gaming. In fact, it usually means slightly worse past 1GB. A pair of 1GB sticks is actually significantly worse than a pair of 512MB sticks. The 1GB sticks will have very bad timings and do crap for overclocking, and won't add performance to most applications, especially games. Even if it were four 512MB sticks, that would mean a command rate of 2T (and worse overclockability/timings) and would be about as bad. That said, I would imagine that 256MB of RAM would really hurt performance in 3DMark, but maybe not. Loading times would be more painful, at the least.

PCI-E cards are no faster than AGP 8x which is no faster than AGP 4x. Athlon 64s performance has nothing to do with being 64-bit, and even when 64-bit software becomes more mainstream, Hypertransport will still be more important in most applications, especially gaming.