PDA

View Full Version : Temp problem?



mrwarezuk
04-13-2002, 10:34 PM
Windows Xp used to reboot my computer when the cpu hit 60C. This feature is disabled in the bios but windows still does it. I have replaced the old s**t Heatsink and fan with the Volcano 7+. Now windows reboots between 40C and 50C. My old heatsink had a 3 pin connector but the new 1 has a 4 pin connector cause it needs more power. I was wondering if my Power Supply wasn't good enough.

1.4 ghz Thunderbird 266 FSB - Volcano 7+
512mb 133mhz
ECS K7VZA Motherboard
80gb ATA 133 7200rpm
Geforce2 mx 32mb
DVD
CD-RW
2 Fans - 1 in & 1 out
System blower

Please help

daedalus
04-13-2002, 11:07 PM
no i don't think it is. I think you either didn't put any thermal paste on, or didn't apply it properly. You do know what thermal paste is don't you ?

mrwarezuk
04-13-2002, 11:27 PM
yes i do know what thermal paste is and have applied it correctly to get rid of all air pockets. Any other ideas?

Andy
04-13-2002, 11:36 PM
even tho your PSU should be able to handle it can you give us details of it (brand, wattage, etc)?

daedalus
04-13-2002, 11:37 PM
What's the voltage for the CPU ?

mrwarezuk
04-14-2002, 12:08 AM
it is a 300w "A one" power supply. It is a 1.4ghz athlon running at 266fsb, think it is 3.3V

daedalus
04-14-2002, 03:07 PM
3.3V...i don't think so.

mrwarezuk
04-15-2002, 01:27 AM
how do i find out the voltage of the cpu then?

Andy
04-15-2002, 01:29 AM
look thru the settings in your bios... it should have it there somewhere

daedalus
04-15-2002, 10:15 AM
yeah...if it's too high, then it'll be overheating, if it's too low, it won't be providing enough power and will also crash....but if you haven't fiddled with the bios it should be on defaut which should be okay...

mrwarezuk
04-16-2002, 02:10 AM
haven't fiddled with the bios settings so should be ok. Have also tried loading the bios fail safe defaults & the optimised settings but still no luck.

daedalus
04-16-2002, 12:35 PM
well, it's probably not CPU voltage then...