PDA

View Full Version : 2GB (2 x 1GB) or two pairs of 1GB (2 x 512MB)? ><;;



altangerel20
08-06-2005, 09:20 AM
which to pick from...

how is the OCZ 2GB(2 x 1GB) (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820227210) ? got excellent reviews on it...

or two pairs of OCZ EL Platinum Rev.2 1GB(2 x 512MB) (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820146890) ?

thanks a bunch!! ><;;

Darthtanion
08-06-2005, 10:48 AM
Single pair of matched modules is best for dual channel systems.

altangerel20
08-06-2005, 10:58 AM
thank you ;;

Ricky1810
08-10-2005, 09:45 AM
I Darth!!

I already own 2*512 Corsair Value, and I can get 2 more.

My sistem:

Micro: A64 3200 Venice Box
Mobo: MSI Neo4 Platinum
RAM: 1024 DDR 400 Mhz Corsair Value (2x512 Dual Channel)
VGA: Asus X800XL 256M
Monitor: LG Studioworks 995E
DVD: Pionner - 120
CDRW: LG 32*10*40
HD: WD 120 G 2M Buffer
Case: Toppower 500w
Mouse/KB: Combo Logitech MX Duo
Webcam: PC-CAM 750
Audio: Creative Inspire 6.1

Will I see a sustancial improvement playing games like FEAR?

Where Im writing (Argentina), its very difficult to get 2*1G....

Thanks :)

Yawgm0th
08-10-2005, 10:49 AM
You'll probably get a performance drop if you get another two sticks. Stay with what you have.

Ricky1810
08-10-2005, 07:45 PM
Hi Yawgm0th!

Can I ask you why?

Darthtanion
08-10-2005, 10:28 PM
Motherboards that support dual channel memory configurations do better with a single pair of modules. Not all boards can do four module dual channel, and the ones that do suffer in performance when compared to another board with the same amount of memory but with only 2 modules.

Besides, 1GB is still the "sweet spot" for the amount of memory to have unless you're into hardcore video rendering and CAD operations.

Ricky1810
08-11-2005, 08:01 AM
Ok, thanks!