Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is this the best Memory I can get for $250.00 ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this the best Memory I can get for $250.00 ?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227208

I have a DFI Lanparty SLI Dr, AMD Sandiego 3700+, and Antec True Power 550 EPS. I want to get My Processor to 2.8 or 3.0. I have Kingston value ram DDR400 PC 3200 and It is holding me back a little. I can get 245 x 11 at 3,3,3,8 timings wit ha 9/10 divider. But It is only somewhat stable. I am fairly new at the overclocking stuff, but I have been reading a lot. I can spend a little more, or a little less. I prefer to buy with the intention not having to overclock now(but I probaly will), but will be able too when this memory (stock) is considered slow...........

Re: Is this the best Memory I can get for $250.00 ?

Your choice of motherboard should allow for very high voltage settings. Either the OCZ VX series modules or the Mushkin Redline series modules will thrive in this board. Both use the CH-UTT chips that do well at higher than normal voltage levels. Didn't look at price for these modules, but they're both available on Newegg I believe.
    Old age and treachery will overcome youth and skill
    My Toys

Comment

I also looke at the mushkin modules. The review I read said they tend t orun hot. Is this a proble? do they perform better than the ocz and it is worth heat hassel?

Comment

They probably won't run any hotter than the OCZ models as they are using the same chips on the PCB. Plus, Mushkin has made a new heatshield for the modules that should help address this issue. At any rate, you should use some sort of active cooling on either of the brands if you jump voltages to anything higher than about 3v.
        Old age and treachery will overcome youth and skill
        My Toys

Comment