PDA

View Full Version : 6600GT vs 6800



FartyMcCrabLice
09-05-2005, 07:53 AM
Been reading up on some things lately and these 2 confused the hell out of me lol. They are both around the same price now and i was wondering which is better?

The 6600 GT has 8 pixel pipelines and 3 vertex shaders, and runs at high clockspeeds (500/1000 MHz). It has a 128-bits memory bus.

The 6800 has 12 pixel pipelines and 5 vertex shaders, and runs at relatively low clockspeeds (325/700 MHz). It has a 256-bits memory bus.

It would seem to me that the 6800 is the way to go however i was shocked at how low the clock speeds are when compared to the 6600GT. Thoughts?

P.S. The 6800 i am reffering to is not the GT or Ultra. Just the normal 6800.

09-05-2005, 09:16 AM
Go for the cheaper one. You'll get the same performance from them both (I have them both). Although if your a mod/oc enthusiast go for the 6800. The 6600GT is as-is, but the 6800 you can unlock 1 more shader, and potentially 4 more pipelines. On the contrary the 6600GT can be oc'd a bit more to increased the perfomance a smidge. I have my 6800LE OC'd the crap out of and it's doing nicely at 364/891 running 12 pipelines and 5 shaders (I got the cheaper one and turned it into a 6800 and then some). It outperforms the 6600 GT only by a little though. The higher clock speeds help out a lot. Even small incriments help.

cacophony
09-05-2005, 03:15 PM
I had this conflict aswell, i chose the 6600GT. Myne beats my mates 6800 :).
Even tho his is OEM :P.
But if your looking at playing things at a higher resolution (i mean 1600x1200), 6800 would most probably be better.
Cheers

Yawgm0th
09-05-2005, 04:00 PM
Actually the 6800 will perform a bit better in most games, but it's so close in most of the better ones that's it's hardly worth paying more for. This does depend on what settings (e.g. resolution, as was mentioned), but it is very close. Unless it's only a little bit more expensive for the 6800 or you do like the idea of opening pipelines, it's probably better to get a 6600GT. I haven't checked the prices lately, but if they are as close as you say, then go for the 6800.

AsianBatman
09-06-2005, 04:29 AM
The prices for the 6800le is 125 on new egg, or you can get a higher chance of unlock everything with the normal 6800 egva for 180. I would go with the 6800, it will perform alittle better with 12 pipelines, or alot with 16x6avp open. Unlocking isn't hard..just a few checks.

09-06-2005, 07:11 AM
The prices for the 6800le is 125 on new egg, or you can get a higher chance of unlock everything with the normal 6800 egva for 180. I would go with the 6800, it will perform alittle better with 12 pipelines, or alot with 16x6avp open. Unlocking isn't hard..just a few checks.
And a lot of artifacts :)

Mack99
09-06-2005, 07:52 AM
I have the 6800OC but its only 128 been debating if its worth going to a 256 in something. 6600 is a little cheaper in 256

Yawgm0th
09-06-2005, 10:17 AM
A 6600 or 6600GT? I'd take a 256MB 6600GT over a 128MB 6800, but certainly not a 256MB 6600.

Wraith556
09-07-2005, 06:51 AM
Having both cards (6600GT and 6800) in near identical systems, I think the 6800 is worth the slight premium for the better performance and image quality. Both cards in AGP format do require a molex power connector and a hefty PSU. 350w minimum for the 6600GT and probably a 400+w for the 6800.

AsianBatman
09-08-2005, 02:52 PM
A good quality 350 can handle a 6800 with no problem.

Yawgm0th
09-09-2005, 05:23 AM
Maybe on a socket A system, but you'll need at least 400W on any K8 or socket 775 system. I'd recommend against a socket 939 system with a 350W PSU even if it were using onboard video. If it were using a 6800, I'd say a 480W PSU would be best.

Adionik
09-20-2005, 10:14 PM
Hah, I had this very same dilema.

casecutter
09-21-2005, 01:59 AM
A good quality 350 can handle a 6800 with no problem.
What about the rest of the components? :uhh:

Anyhow, I would suggest at least 400W with at least 25A on the 12V+ rail. And not a cheapie either. You get what you pay for.

AsianBatman
09-21-2005, 05:08 AM
Well assuming you don't overclock, have 1 hard drive 1 cdrom drive and a p4c. -_-

Wraith556
09-21-2005, 09:59 AM
Both of my systems have three HDs (2 PATA & 1 SATA) and 2 writeable optical drives. I think you should look to at least a 420w+ PSU from a known name brand, such as Antec, TopPower, Enermax, etc. No harm in getting more than you think you'll need. Gives you overhead for future expansion.

AsianBatman
09-21-2005, 01:09 PM
Both of my systems have three HDs (2 PATA & 1 SATA) and 2 writeable optical drives. I think you should look to at least a 420w+ PSU from a known name brand, such as Antec, TopPower, Enermax, etc. No harm in getting more than you think you'll need. Gives you overhead for future expansion.

Yea thats true.