PDA

View Full Version : Need Empire Earth



Phil22
12-06-2001, 08:43 AM
Can anyone tell me if Empire Earth, "the much awaited sequel to Age of Empires", been released in Australia. If not when, and I finally statment " This probably be the only game I'll ever BUY!":laugh:

Kay
12-06-2001, 09:26 AM
downloaded the demo the other day........looks like I will have to play age of empires before starting the EE demo :(

Synthetic
12-06-2001, 10:19 AM
I downloaded the demo too..but it didnt work:(
i'll try again later

Beefy
12-06-2001, 10:21 AM
yes, it has been released for a while.. i got a copy about three weeks ago.. tis a very sweet gamne.. :)

Synthetic
12-06-2001, 10:29 AM
Beefy.......BEEEEEFFFFYYYYYYY..................... ............-holds out hand-:D :wave:

sKuLLsHoT
12-06-2001, 04:29 PM
hehe EE, thats my copy, i love big LANs...(AGDC) was good if u found the "underground" ftp servers, there was not enuff disk space/time to get all the stuff i found at that LAN, muaha

gee, maybe that same sorta stuff would happen at MorBius, i sure hope not....

:thumb:

Beefy
12-06-2001, 05:29 PM
I bought the game.. i didn't copy it.. serious.. why don't you believe me? I did!

Mummy, make the bad man go away... *wanders off*

Slamo
12-06-2001, 05:45 PM
1. EE is in no way affiliated with Age of Empires. The sequal to age of empires is Age of Mithology.

2. THe only part of EE that impressed me was the BC era. Once they get into modern times the graphics become blocky and for some reason the russian barracks in world war 2 look like medieval castles

3. It attempts to use a zoomed in view in some scenarios which is completely impractical to RTS.

4. Love the medieval aspect of it though

Beefy
12-06-2001, 06:04 PM
1. EE is in no way affiliated with Age of Empires. The sequal to age of empires is Age of Mithology.

However, one of AOE's leading designers was part of the team for EE, and it does use a lot of very similar features...

2. THe only part of EE that impressed me was the BC era. Once they get into modern times the graphics become blocky and for some reason the russian barracks in world war 2 look like medieval castles

I didn't notice any blocky graphics.. I thoroughly enjoyed all the ages, though aerial warfare was a bit difficult to master at first.

3. It attempts to use a zoomed in view in some scenarios which is completely impractical to RTS.

Just for show.. still has the old and faithful top down view.

4. Love the medieval aspect of it though

loved the whole game.. got pretty darn hard in the later ages though.

Nick
12-07-2001, 04:36 AM
Mmmmmm i thought the demo was crap, is it really worrth buying?

Kheldar
12-12-2001, 06:17 AM
I spent 18 Hours playing my first game of empire earth.

It was good but not sure if its better than AOE2

volton
12-12-2001, 01:10 PM
Im playing the demo seems pretty cool :thumb:

dejay
12-12-2001, 03:39 PM
I like it better than AoE because:

3d
More technologies
No more replanting farms
Higher population cap
And, err....3d
The ships look cool when they sink.
See through buildings when people are behind them

A massed battle in the middle ages with seige weapons firing all over the place and blowing up looks really good.

Gripes:

Just can't zoom back enough to see enough action at once.
Hard to tell when buildings are near completion.
For some reason my Vikings are see through??

I give it 4/5

Slamo
12-12-2001, 03:54 PM
I like it better than AoE because:

No more replanting farms


In the expansion you don't have to replant farms

Beefy
12-12-2001, 06:23 PM
For some reason my Vikings are see through??


hehehe.. if you hadn't noticed already, your snipers probably are as well.. and if you are the enemy, you won't even see them.... :D

They are basically stealth units. They are invisible to the enemy until they get really close.. damn good for those early surprise raids...

Kheldar
12-13-2001, 08:55 AM
I love the nuclear weapons, the screen goes white & then u get to see this wicked 3d mushroom cloud

btw the 18 hour game is about halfway thru - I've taken out 3 of his bases (including main one) but the ******* keeps building more

dejay
12-13-2001, 03:30 PM
In the expansion you don't have to replant farms

You can que a lot of farms, but eventually they run out. Then it's time to go around and replant fifty different farms. Grrrr.

This usually happens in the middle of giant battles.

BTW, thanks Beefy for the info on the vikings. :thumb: I shall have to use this to my maniacal advantage. Mu ha ha ha haaaa.

JealousMidget
12-13-2001, 04:40 PM
You can que a lot of farms, but eventually they run out. Then it's time to go around and replant fifty different farms. Grrrr.


Actually, you get a audio cue that your farm has crapped out. Just go to any mill refill the queue and then just replant the one farm that crapped out. Also, the queue is supposed the hold 15 farms, but I have found that if you hold the Shift key and click the farm button quickly, you can get it hold about twice that. ;)

I usually play DeathMatches, usually don't last long enough to worry about food. :laugh: :shoot: :shoot: